Sort:  

That could work if the documentation is there. Potential SMT implementors aren't going to read code, they want marketing materials. Especially if they're external to the current steem ecosystem, which most are. The majority of questions I field about SMTs come from people whose knowledge about steem is virtually nonexistent. But they've got teams, projects and will invest and bridge if sold on SMTs.

I see what you mean. But the community can document SMTs. I know this because that used to be my day job, and I have some confidence that I can contribute. We wouldn't want early SMT adopters to have to reverse-engineer the thing if they don't have to.

For example, this is how I would usually go about doing documentation when I worked at Steemit, Inc. But instead of using internal tools, I'm documenting my documentation, so to speak:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@inertia/steemit-dev-portal-document-transaction-polling-api

I believe I can do basically the same thing for SMT documentation.