need offline wallets for Mac OS and Windows

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

The problem with keeping your crypto coins on an exchange or another web app like steemit.com is that they become big targets. Hackers will eventually get into steemit and empty the wallets. I learned the hard way with this and had a lot of coins on Cryptsy when it was owned.

We need steem wallets for Mac OS and Windows so that users can keep their steem safe. I went looking and only found a command line version for my Mac, which I can probably figure out, but that doesn't work for the rest of the community.

Let's discuss. What are people doing to keep their steem wallets safe?

Sort:  

You bring up a good point. At this point if I ever hit it big on steemit id probably transfer to bittrex and buy other crypto or "cash out" which I dont think either option is good for long term value of steem.

Even the huge whales keep their steem, SP and SBD on the steemit wallet. However all 3 keep the steemit economy going. I am at loss for words or ideas how to address this issue. I hope someone who understands steemits economy and wallet can help explain why we all keep our currency online.