You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Smart with Smartsteem | Lesson #1: Are you ready to promote your content?

in #steem6 years ago

@arthur.grafo have you heard of the brave browser? It works great and it helps you stay private. I wouldn't use firefox for nothing though. They have firefox quantum out and that's supposed to be the cat's meow. Maybe you'll like that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I also do not wish to use Firefox (they sold out to Google years ago, when they accepted a "donation" of about $30m - only reason it became public info was because the Inland Revenue slammed a huge fine against Firefox for not declaring the receipt of the $30m.

However, I've tried Opera, but the latest version I can use, does not seem to work with Steemit very well, so I am forced to stick to the older Firefox.

Each year, the Firefox new version pretends to provide more security, but if you check the sites where they examine the code and report the truth, what Firefox really excels at is in harvesting data from us.

However, your suggestio of Brave is good and I have convinced a number of posters at Gab, who really need the privacy because of political content being published, but unfortunately, Brave is not available for me. I cannot even find an older version that would work on XP (SP3)

My posts at Steemit are not a problem, since I have even taken the exceptional road to openness by providing my full name in both English and in Greek. The few political posts I make also bear my full name.

I do take a more extreme position on Gab (there, unlike here, I have thousands of followers and my score is high, because I tell it as I see it). However, once I realised I cannot hide my details, I decided to take the rare position of, to hell with it, so what if they come after me,all they'll do is stop an old man close to the end of his life anyway.

However, I do not want all those hackers who are doing it for profit or fun messing with me, so I stick to my OS which a hacker provided, many years ago.

I hope the above clarifies why I am being anti-new-technology (think this is bad(?), I can imagine what you would think if you see my cell phone which does not even know what the web is and cannot use data-theft programs like whatsapp).
:)

Anyway, thanks for caring and remembering to try and help me.