You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time To Wake Up and Fix Steem's Voting Problem

in #steem6 years ago

@steevc You post more often than most... what about those that post once a day or even less? Do you believe they need to not self-vote? (Just curious) I think they're still doing great good to the community by giving out 9/10th(ish) or more of their votes to curate good content.

@kevinwong
You post on average less than one a day... you're still giving 90%+ of your votes to others and that doesn't seem selfish at all (assuming you're doing the normal 10 votes worth a week) and I think that is awesome!! I don't see a problem with it personally. IF you are voting/curating solid content then you should be the one with more steem-power and I'm glad you're giving yourself some.

I'm not sure at what point it becomes abuse... i don't think it's when you're vote hits a certain dollar amount. I think it's what percentage of your votes are going to yourself.

p.s. sorry i don't really have a solid opinion on the main topic of curation percentage just chiming in on this subtopic from @steevc

Sort:  

I know there are much worse cases. There are people who comment just so they can give themselves a vote every time. We each set our own standards. I decided not to do it at all unless I got a flag I consider unwarranted

K cool. just so that people realize there are huge variances and not lump everyone together.

People also lump all vote buyers together as well.
Some people who use a bid bot just to invest some of their money and some who do it to get onto trending. If they wait like 2 days then they aren't trying to get onto trending... if they do it right away kinda seems like they're trying to aim for trending. (or there's a possibility they don't have a strategy just doing it just because) I guess if they wait more than like 4 days then they're just trying to milk the system.

Anyway that's a whole other bag-o-worms. haha