What Is The Steem Reputation Score?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


Note: I got the information for this post from the Steem FAQs, but it turns out there was a small error in them that made it into my video -- hopefully the FAQs will be updated to reflect this soon. Here are the correct rules of how upvotes affect your reputation score. Thanks @crokkon for pointing this out in the comments!

  • Any upvote increases your reputation as long as the voter has a positive reputation. The increase is not dependent on the voter reputation, but only on the value of the vote.
  • A downvote will only reduce your reputation if the downvoter has a higher reputation than you.

The number associated with your account on Steemit and DTube is called the reputation score. On Steemit it’s usually in parentheses next to someone’s username, and on DTube it’s next to a red star in their profile.

In general, it gives a sense of a few things like how long someone has been on the platform and how people value their content. There’s a great visual rubric by @sndbox in this post if you want a quick reference of what different levels might correspond to.

All accounts start with a reputation score of 25, and the higher it gets, the harder it is to increase. The score is not affected by how much STEEM or Steem Power you have in your account, but instead is based off of the upvotes and downvotes you receive.

If someone upvotes your post or comment, your reputation score will increase. The amount by which it increases depends on how much Steem Power they have. For your reputation score to go down, you need to get downvotes from someone with a higher reputation score than you. Your reputation score can actually go below zero — if this happens your posts and comments will be hidden on the Steemit interface.

The reputation score might not be super important to everyone, but I’ve found it fun to make a game out of increasing it. 😀

Thanks for watching! If you have any questions please let me know in the comments!


Music by Chillhop: http://youtube.com/chillhopdotcom
Globuldub - Foreign Exchange: https://soundcloud.com/globuldub/foreign-exchange


follow_jeffbernst.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

So does the reputation affects visibility of my posts? I mean when my reputation would be higher my posts are rated better?

That's a great question! I'm not sure what the answer is -- I'll investigate and get back to you if I can find a conclusive answer.

Yeah tell me if you do! :)

.

That's interesting, so I guess it would be great if it work both ways :D
but thank you for your answer @crokkon :)

.

Oh, you're right, actually I am new so I know what you're talking about :D

.

Oh interesting, actually I got that from the FAQs (here):

Users with a higher reputation than you will have more of a positive effect.

I can't find confirmation for this anywhere now, so maybe it has changed or isn't correct.

Thanks for pointing that out! If you get confirmation that it's not a factor please let me know so I can update my video!

.

Oh good call! I need to check out the code more. I haven't looked through it yet (and it seems like there's some logic I haven't learned yet), but so unless there's something somewhere else in the code, when upvoting someone reputation score doesn't change the reptuation boost one receives unless its negative, in which case there's no effect?

.

Awesome, thanks for letting me know! It's really cool to see how posting your question on Github led to Tim Cliff updating his Condenser fork. I'll make a note on my post that my original info was incorrect. Thanks again! 👍

i also love your post brother.

I just statrted with steemit and dtube, and was wondering that 25 star. Well you have just answer my question and so am very happy I came across your video. Thank you Jeff

Glad I could help! :D

i like your post..... brother

Congratulations @jeffbernst! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!