You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #1 Data Point Proving The Value of Steem!

in #steem7 years ago

The amount of user activity is a huge indicator of value which is why companies like Facebook buy companies like Instagram for billions of dollars! Steem has a ton of user activity on it and it will only take one whale buying $10 million dollars of it seeing this to put the price up in one day from $1 to $5 or $10 without it coming down again! Until this happens we will know our value and then not be surprised when more of the rest of the investing and crypto world catches on! Most transactions = most user activity = most real value. The money follows the people especially online! Facebook and Google are worth so much only because of user activity.

Sort:  

I get your point.
But lets assume I live in a village where everybody pays with rocks.

So rocks have the most transaction in my envirmont and I might have the most of them, which makes me the richest man in my village. In another village they pay with glass and dont value rocks at all. So if I move there I am the poorest.

I am not sure if this is a good example.

But the acceptance of the currency makes it valubale or? Not the transaction. Here we are in our steemit bubble where everybody including myself is happy to earn steempower. Outside of this steem is valued less, even we have the most transactions.

The activity on the site is another story and I am happy to see it grow.
Or is it in this case transactions=activity?

I don't know there is only so much we can guess at ahead of time. It looks to me like everything is in position for a rise to the moon for Steem while a lot of other crypto bubbles will pop and fall apart because of lack of activity. Users = real value and Steem has more users and activity than everything except Bitcoin and Ethereum if we count all the related activities to those as well such as their forums.

Jerry - slightly disagree. If FB and Google had same user activity but no revenue from advertising, they wouldn't be worth nearly what they currently are. They have very high market caps for two reasons - proven and growing revenue streams from advertising, and insatiable appetite to grow and innovate. STEEM needs both of these to get the price of STEEM way up.

STEEM On!!
DaveB

a agree 100% dave