You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clarifying my decision not to support EOS-related posts and witnesses (100% of post rewards donated to curation initiatives)

in #steem6 years ago

I respect your opinion on this matter - even though I fundamentally disagree with your logic.

By all means though - please vote for those who you feel are contributing the most to STEEM and it's success. Everyone should do this always. I was personally sad to lose your support and figured this was why, but it's you're right to voice your opinion (in the form of voting) however you see fit.

I do have one comment on some of reasonings you listed out:

(1) they are not making enough money here

I think when talking about "enough", the for is important context in this point.

On one hand: currently (and for the majority of STEEM's lifespan) witnesses have been rewarded enough to support themselves and enough for a professional server infrastructure to produce blocks and help the STEEM network.

On the other hand, STEEM witnesses "are not being rewarded enough" to build entire teams that can do meaningful work on the STEEM network (at least from my experience). This may change - but you can't build a team on the "hopes" that STEEM prices will rise higher.

It's not black and white when it comes down to "not making enough money". If and when you try to boil it down that far, it tints the motivation towards greed. While I'm sure greed plays a role in it for some people - it's not the primary motivator for everyone.

Sort:  

Thanks for your responses. I respect your opinion as well, though I think you discount the role of a witness in its role in governance and potential conflicts of interest. I responded to your other comment with more detail.