You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A response to proposed changes to witness/miner rewards in the next Steem hardfork

in #steem8 years ago

Very true - it is going to decrease overall (like everything else), but proportionally it will increase. It's all the way you spin it.

I suppose a better way of explaining it is that it will be 5x the amount an elected witness will receive.

Either way - I'm still not for it :)

Sort:  

5x the amount an elected witness

Why does this matter?

I don't see the logic in going from 1x the amount of an elected witness to 5x.

I'm baffled as to why it's being increased as opposed to remaining the same.

I suppose it "matters" because it's an illogical choice in my opinion.

I don't see the logic in going from 1x the amount of an elected witness to 5x.

I'm baffled as to why it's being increased as opposed to remaining the same.

I would guess it is an attempt to reduce the inadvertent impact of the huge reduction on overall witness rewards (clearly directly primarily at top 19) on miners and runners up (i.e. keep their rewards closer to the same as before). It misses the mark a bit -- the miner and runner up rewards still ends up with a net reduction -- but not nearly as much as without the multiplier.

How else would you propose to reduce only top 19 witness rewards (presuming that is a good idea)?