Sort:  

You can buy and sell on bittrex and huobi. You just can't deposit or withdraw.

That's what i just said "no NEW sellers", the old sellers are still there.

How can you be a new seller? You either have STEEM to sell or you don't.

If you sell another shitcoin and buy STEEM with it, then sell your STEEM for a small profit an hour later, wouldn't you consider that a new seller?

My understanding is that you cannot transfer STEEM from your wallet on steemit to the exchanges, so you cannot appear as seller with newly arrived STEEM on the markets. So there is no "new" direct supply, only as you say, if you sell BTC or shitcoin for STEEM and sell that a bit later.
I am afraid when the wallet transfers will be enabled again in a few days, we will see a drop in price as new STEEM supply will arrive to exhanges. I just hope there will be enough buyers to balance that extra supply.

I just sold all my Steem holdings on Bittrex. It looks like Steem has peaked and now I'll wait until later when it dips again... and it will.