You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Decentralized" YouTube Alternatives on Steem? Nope, Not Yet | A Detailed Look at 3Speak and Dtube

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

The reason I’m sticking with dtube is that it’s easier to upload via YT mobile app nowadays, the just copy the link to dtube upload. It’s easy when you are travelling. I don’t think all videos have to be on chain (too much cost). Most of my videos and other dtube videos are nothing much controversial to be kept on a decentralised chain, I don’t mind using YT or other video site for hosting.

Dtube has a potential to become decentralised video platform as you mentioned for those who got demonetised from YT and others, I agree mostly with this post.

I largely stopped following 3speak after realizing its centralized model from heimin’s reply a few months back. But more important for me is still it’s not so mobile friendly if you are with ios, can’t upload from phone, they only support mp4, not mov.

happy holidays

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Well YouTube can delete your videos anytime for not being "commercially viable". That's why I created OneLoveIPFS hosting service for a better uploading experience for creators.

DTube supports MP4 and not MOV for a reason, as IPFS network works the best with MP4 for videos.

youtube terminated at least four of my channels