You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still in Defense of a High SBD: Why Witnesses Should not Implement Steem to SBD Conversions Now-

in #steem6 years ago

I don't fully agree. I'm in the camp that believes that the STEEM asset is for trading, speculating, and risk. While sbd should be stable. I have business use cases for a stable crypto. I could bring many brick and mortar clients on board with stable sbd

Sort:  

Even it was stable at $2 or $5 it would be better.

Just because the value fluctuates, doesn't make it any less of a type of currency. If you want to see examples of companies using SBD, look at @Privex, they accept SBD and STEEM. Not that I'm trying to tell you how to run your business or anything. The community benefits from a free market, and companies should adapt to that, not the other way around. At least, the company that's more likely to get my business that is.

This. I don't understand the point of the SBD if it's not actually being successfully pegged to the dollar. Why not just get rid of it and simplify things by having only a single floating currency on the platform instead of of two?

I also don't understand the "but we'll get less money for our content" argument. When I upvote something, I'm basically saying I want that post to get a fraction of the "pot" of Steem (or SBD or whatever) created that day, right? So if my upvote is worth 1 SBD when a SBD is worth X USD, then if the SBD is pegged by printing more of them, my upvote will just become worth X SBD when an SBD is worth $1, will it not? The percentage of the pot I allocate to someone with an upvote wont' change…

But maybe I'm just completely misunderstanding.