You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self Voting... now a problem due to linear rewards

in #steem7 years ago

That is all very well and good, but your opinion about your own work means nothing in the context of 'quality' because quality requires other people, lots of other people, to make the same judgement. That's how Steem works, except in this respect.

Sort:  

free market dynamics > personal opinion

voting for yourself will never overcome that and I'm not claiming it will.

I dont care if people vote for their own work, simply put.

It's not about the bigger picture, just about raising the bar for exploitative behaviour from new users, so that the quality does not decline.

If I voted every one of my posts and comments with HF19, what do you think people would think of me, especially being I am operating a Witness?

well, you would burn through your voting power pretty quick and not be able to upvote others, but that is currently your prerogative.

you're begging the question that everyone upvoting their own content will necessarily decrease quality, and I don't think the two are directly correlated.

Theres a reason "upvote your post" is an default option on new posts but not new comments -- because most people would do that anyways.

also, a quick example -- i've made a few comments in different threads today that I upvoted a small percentage just to push it to the top of the comment pile. Why? Because I want more people to see my comment. That's perfectly within my prerogative and my voting power reflects that.