You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Improving the Economics of Steem: A Community Proposal

in #steem5 years ago

I don't doubt your intentions are good, but, the way I see it, these proposals will do more harm than good.
The main reason big accounts generate big rewards is not necessarily self-vote, but circle-jerking, and this will go on no matter what changes you make in terms of curation. Circle-jerking is how the system works at every level, let's be honest.
Big accounts will still be making money... As for small accounts who barely make anything, they'll get even less. 'Come for the money!' What money are we talking about? New users struggle to make a few cents and stand to make even less under the proposals. There is no incentive to curate posts that make a few cents. I am one of those who never bothered much with curation rewards, for the past weeks I've been voting regularly a new user with good content who makes a few cents a post. But as I stand to lose in author rewards a better strategy for me would be to vote for big accounts regularly to compensate for my loss... I might as well put some big accounts on auto-vote and be done with all curation business.
As for the downvote pool, that's tricky, too. If people used downvotes to eliminate spam and all that, yeah, that would be great. On the other hand, we could see even more downvote wars... and frankly I've had enough of them....

Sort:  

Well said. As I find your insight substantial, would you do me the favor of reading my reply to the OP below? I'd value your input.

Thanks!