Sort:  

Yep, I have seen him and many others - and don't get me wrong, these personalities are very welcome and very much needed on this platform. They will mostly all do very well out of it and that is absolutely fine

But their success sends out an unhelpful message for others wrt what is needed to do well here - for most 'normal' posters this success will just not happen

Whenever I see a comment along the lines of "I produce great content but nobody even sees it, it's not fair" - which is many times per day - I check the poster's wallet and most of the time they have 40 or 50 Steem Power, mostly delegated when they opened the account - i.e. they have invested not one single $ of their own money - they have no skin in the game

Without getting into the naivety of the thinking, people need to understand that 99% of the time an investment of both their time and 'some' of their money is needed - neither alone is likely to be enough. Unfortunately, they take their cues from the Youtube superstars, who are the exception to the rule

Having said that, I am confident that enough will learn over time and this will slowly increase the demand for Steem - in part driven by the well known arrivals bringing in volume

Unlike the complainers you mention, I was warned not to expect much in the way of earnings or views until after months of networking and posting, so I'm not even slightly disgruntled. I find the site fascinating and enjoyable. Connecting with people on it is a thrill. It will not surprise me when site-related cryptocoins gain in value.

However, you just said something that took me aback. "I check the poster's wallet and most of the time they have 40 or 50 Steem Power, mostly delegated when they opened the account - i.e. they have invested not one single $ of their own money"

Hmm. I def had to invest some of my own USD (via ETH) before I lifted my Steem Power past 40. Now, don't get me wrong. I'm fine with making that investment. But I wonder: If I had complained, and if one of the complaints you saw had been mine, would you also be presuming about me that I had not invested anything?

Hi, there is no need to presume anything on the blockchain. I can just check your wallet and see your transfers of STEEM and SBD from Blocktrades.

If all new users did the same it would be great for the price of STEEM, it's a shame that most don't

I would definitely recommend continuing to purchase more and powering up whenever you can - it's much more enjoyable as your vote value increases, and hopefully it will turn out to be a good investment