You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update: Communities/Hivemind

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I've been waiting for Communities for more than a year now. For me, it's an essential piece of the social networking puzzle that'll make Steem usable. I've been following progress on GitHub. Look forward to Hive 1.5. Thanks for all the hard work over the many months.

I'm also quite intrigued by the stuff in 2.0+ - gamification, rep score replacement etc. Hope to see those in 2019.

Unless I'm mistaken, it seems like community names will be directly tied to Steem accounts. Sadly, a lot of high value, universally popular community names are owned by account name squatters. It'd be a shame to have stuff like "science", "movies", "gaming", or "france" run by random abusers. Do we have a solution for this?

Sort:  

👍communities are absolutely essential and needed ASAP. As I mentioned in another comment, it’s amazing to see how far we’ve come with such primitive tools. Can only imagine where the next generation might take us..

Wrt names, it's a concern but there's a lot of plain words on other platforms which are reserved or closed off. A lot of the best content is niche to some extent, with names reflecting that. If it's truly an issue we can implement a 2nd layer namespace.

I'm quite happy with my name, but 2nd layer namespace sounds interesting!

I would be very interested in knowing this too. If accounts are the only way to form a community, how will we also interact? Does that mean one account for a community and one account for say, posting and commenting? Anyway, I appreciate you @liberosist asking the question.

Let a MILLION community account names bloom?
I currently buy from blocktrades..