You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Advise Against Linear Reward

in #steem6 years ago

Dear @ned , a bit off-topic and alhough I am a small minnow here on Steemit I am hoping your can answer this:

WHY was the viewcount (eyeball) feature that use to be near the other indicators for our posts (such as upvote, votes, comments) regarding our post was REMOVED a few months back?

I've asked many witnesses but none could tell me why Steemit decided to do this.

This really puzzles and dissapoints me (along with countless other Steemians), as it was the BEST indicator to see how many people were actually having a look at our posts.

I see absolutely no advantage of this feature having being removed (unless I am missing something), as it certainly didn't take up much space on the screen.

Any possibility of getting this feature (post view count) back?

Other than that I love this platform and am very grateful for all you guys do for us.

Sincerely,

@libertyacademy

Sort:  

The viewcount is okay, but it's only view count from Steemit.com. There are so many other Steem websites that can generate views.

The answer back then (the question had been asked many times) was that it was "easy to manipulate" (simply reloading the page with F5 apparently) and therefore irrelevant or worse, misguiding. I am not convinced at all by that argument.

Knowing how many people have actually read a post or watched a video is extremely useful. The fact that the "viewcount" indicator was not perfect and could be manipulated should have been a reason to IMPROVE IT in order to make it more precise, not to remove it all together!

It's like: "Oh, you twisted your ankle and are limping now! It would seem that this leg is not helping you walk well! How sad! ... I'll therefore saw off your leg altogether, so you'll be rid of this bad leg that's making you limp!"

Thank you @sorin.lite. This is the most info I got from anyone on the matter. So, I really appreciate you taking the time to fill me in. I like your way of thinking and your analogy at the end is spot on. It boggles the mind how people can create something wonderful like Steemit, but take away something so precious from it without much thought or consideration. I guess there are things that we just have to accept in life, despite their ridiculousness. Too many. God bless you.

@ned @libertyacademy

WHY was the viewcount (eyeball) feature that use to be near the other indicators for our posts (such as upvote, votes, comments) regarding our post was REMOVED a few months back?

wow. That would be great to see. I am also new to this platform. Writing and Creating. Id like to see what my efforts are doing traffic wise, as votes are minimal.

Oh yeah, you seem new... remembering the eye and all...

One would think.

best comment in this whole thread

Thanks. I just find it really sucks that we can't get a single response of why this has happened from anyone at Steemit. Pretty lame.

A pixel tracking could do this, very easy to implement.

Thanks for the suggestion. Can you point me to a resource that would explain how to do this? And are there some drawbacks of doing this? (such as being tracked by unwanted parties)

i heard it wasnt accurate.. its possible that spiders and search engine bots could easily mess with the real numbers.. and indeed it could be abused by people to artificially inflate it.. just a guess really as im not sure if the views included page loads from people without accounts.