Dan is no longer working for Steemit. Should I care?

in #steem7 years ago

He quit working for Steemit, not Steem. So now he can go work for Steemthat or Steemthis or Steemtube... etc.
DanTheMan has over 2 mill SteemPower and Dan has 4 mill. For the average U.S. laborer that is more that 30 years of very hard work. The Curation rewards alone could serve to supplement an income well. And we have not even touched on potential exchange resources and sock-puppets.
Dan is clearly not doing this in opposition to Steemit as a group, much less Steem the blockchain.
His last post was very enlightening.
So why does it look like everyone sees this as a "bad thing"?

  • I'm glad if he is free of whatever contraptual obligations Steemit Inc. may have had him under.
  • I'm glad we have another open worker for the Steem blockchain not subject to the desires of the biggest SteemPower holder(Steemit).
  • Hopefully, Steemit will not be the only way to Steem soon. No more Second Commandment
  • I'm also happy now that some not so faithful to the network might drop the price enough for me to be capable of buying.

I can't see one negative thing about this...

And to think I was about to finish my second "Breaking Bad News" post...

Sort:  

From what I've seen Dan wanted a more permissive licence for the Steem software, but Ned wants to keep some control of it. I wonder if he will still want to work on it.

We do have other ways to access the blockchain with Busy, eSteem and esteem8

Thank you for this, I immensely appreciate what all the hard workers at Steemit are doing.
I honestly wish I had more to give.