You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still in Defense of a High SBD: Why Witnesses Should not Implement Steem to SBD Conversions Now-

in #steem6 years ago

High SBD values definitely correlates with user activity, and I believe that it is also the underlying causality.

As an entrepreneur working in ICO consulting, online courses and having just recently cofounded a tech start up and gotten funding, I have also started out as a blogger looking to turn Steemit in to one of my revenue streams. High SBD rewards make that possible - I am using the high valuation to buy steem and build a respectable presence on this platform.

While a stable currency backing Steemit has some very real use cases, I believe that the inflated SBD is bringing in users - from personal experiences, any friends that I have recruited have come primarily to make a profit blogging, so the bigger the rewards the better.

If I was deciding, I would do as follows:

  1. Hire a statistician to try and definitely find a correlation and causality between growth rate and SBD price. (I'm not a statistician, but with an engineering background I'm pretty handy with maths and would happily provide some figures on this until you get some solid figures for sure).
  2. Leave things the way they are until the active user base increases to a lot more than what it is now.
  3. Create a Steemit-wide poll and ask users what they think. Not sure how to make a poll on this but I'm sure there's a way to get to nearly every active user.
  4. Based on correlation results and user survey results, make a decision. Maybe the solution is to make the exchange ratio 1:2.5 instead of 1:1, but without some concrete stats to back a decision, it's hard to say.

I hope this helps!