You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Safe Steemit ~ 1 Day Voting Moratorium for the Whales

in #steem8 years ago

I'm not saying we never need whales, or that they have no function ... I'm saying that right now roeland is naive to think that steemit is indeed decentralized; 30 people deciding everything is not decentralized ... and that's why there are so many bad results

I'm not panicking either, because I see a lot of the whales did lower their voting slider, be it more like 30-50% instead of the 1-10% as they should, but that's already a significant improvement compared with just a week ago

the promoted button didn't do much, it's too early, that's for when pepsi and cola actually come in

but the voting slider seem to be doing the trick ... because the whales can now vote 'smaller', which is needed ... and at least some of them are doing it, so ... it will improve, but I wouldn't mind if it were to improve faster, especially because the solution is so simple

Sort:  

Yes, using the slider does help. Even for me. If I feel really good about a post, I upvote it 100%. If I'm a little "meh", it's a good post, just it doesn't have the full force behind it, I go to 30%. If I'm on the fence.. I see the value, and think it should be voted, but I don't want to cheerlead it on, I give it 50%

So my mood greatly affects my slider. Each time I slide my slider, I'm kind of waiting for someone to call me out on my decision, which I could qualify each time if they did... but luckily no one does that.. and I don't have to.. :)

The slider is something that may be key, I agree. good post.