Losing $3,000 in Two Weeks Has Never Felt So Good.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

finally-leah-mcfall-releases-the-music-video-for-happy-human-01.jpg

Two weeks ago I went all-in on steem, I invested all the spare money I had, a total of around $6k into steempower. Why did I do that? because I believe in steemit and steem that much and I also feel to really grow here on steemit you have to have a decent amount of steempower as well as good content.

My account after investing

DQmNRYDZiw1sMR3tcGhRXK5ydaax9SsF342h3SVETiYrimb_1680x8400.png

IMG_20170716_190141.png


It felt really good to be able to upvote posts by my followers and actually make a difference, it also felt really good to reward people who commented on my posts with a nice upvote, but one thing I did not think about till I invested, was that my money was now locked up in steempower for at least 3 months which meant I could not panic sell everything at the first sign of trouble and I didn't have to constantly check the price of steem as it didn't really matter, I was in it for the long run and that felt good in my mind and for my blood pressure.

My account now.

DQmNRYDZiw1sMR3tcGhRXK5ydaax9SsF342h3SVETiYrimb_1680x8400.png


IMG_20170716_190112.png


If you take into account the extra steempower I have earnt then I am $3k down but for some strange reason I am totally OK with that, If I saw that my bank account was $3k down I would have a heart attack, If I had bought gold 2 weeks ago and it lost $3k I would freak out but as I am sitting here writing this post I actually have a smile on my face because I know as soon as Bitcoin sorts out it's scaling debate conclusion on the 1st Aug then it will be business as usual, in fact I see steem going way past the $2 it was a few weeks ago, which is why at the end of this next week I plan on investing another $3k into steempower and I suggest you do the same. oh and while your at it get some EOS too.

If your going to lose money then do it with steempower, it feels so much better :)

Peace and love to the World

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

20170616134033_Picture_20170615_212026931.jpg

Img source

Sort:  

my money was now locked up in steempower for at least 3 months which meant I could not panic sell everything at the first sign of trouble

That is a good thing :) Current price of steem is low, but when you hit the bottom the only way is up.

The problem is that no one knows what the bottom is... :/

It's not losing money until you'll take it out. Respect, hopefully the investment will turn into profit :) Keep up the good work @markwhittam !

You did not loose money tehnically because for the moment you still own the steem power and steem. You could say that you lost if you were selling now at the price of today market. All crypto will still dropp in value you will see but after August 1st the market will go slowly slowly get back the way it was in the "golden days". Personally i see this period as a great oportunity to invest and i think that this is the last "wave" that we can take advantage. Now going back to Steemit you are a great member of it and for me a good friend that i found here!
So there is one thing to keep on doing Steem on!

True, Bitcoin is influencing all cryptos. The upcoming Aug 1st impact is the reason obviously. Though we may see this turbulence for several weeks after Aug 1st and then will recuperate to a new high for sure. Most of them are speculating 10$ per steem by year end but 5$ seems reasonable.
Though it's unfortunate enough that after having a product like steemit ready and working with thousands of users, still BTC prominently influences Steem and others. Just keep powering up until it's cheap. Invest wisely...

Yes I suppose if you look at it that way then my SP has gone up :) and you are right it's a golden opportunity for everyone to get in before it's too late.
Yeah you are right again, maybe the reason I am still smiling is because I can still do posts and interact with my friends I have made on this platform, OK my posts are not getting as much and the views vs votes are almost half nowadays but I don't think it's all about the money, otherwise I would not do as many posts, in fact I do more now than ever before.
Thanks buddy steem on

At one time I had over 8300 SP and was a dolphin here. A small amount was earned and the rest of it was from an investment of only about $780 when Steem was hovering at 10 cents per Steem. Then I ran into financial calamity because of my Mother's stroke and had to cash out everything at a profit of around $1100 total.

So I made a profit on my investment, and it helped me pay for bills, but I lost in the long run, because now Steem is over $1.00 (as of today about $1.24 right now), and it was over $2 last month.

As long as you don't cash out, there is no loss, and if you cash out too early, even if you profit you could still end up seeing it as a loss later when the price goes up even more. I wish I still had the 8300 SP. Lol.

Resteeming this to 13,000+ followers. Hope it helps a little.

Wow, the main thing is you made a profit, and I believe it won't take you long to become a dolphin again, but to be honest in my eyes you are a whale.
I'm not planning on cashing out anytime soon, this is a long term investment for me, I really want to grow in this community, you are really helping me along the way and I never forget people who help me.
I love it that you enjoy my posts and resteem them, thank you for the support :)

Joan is definitely the closest to a whale you can be without whale level steem power. An "alt" whale, if you will ;)

"Alt" whale. Lol. I like that. :) Especially since I like playing with my name, Joan ALTres (Joan of Alt, as in ALTcoin).

Since HF19, however, it's been more like being an "alt" dolphin. :(

Clap clap clap!! Well said, most definitely an "alt" whale.
Thanks for that :)

Yes it will help we the newbies a lot.

Wait to see the smile on your face like a month or two from now when Steem is going to jump over 2 usd or even higher. We will talk that time as well!
You are right this is the beauty of Steemit as we can interect with friends and post our blogs and have a lot of fun in the same time!
We will talk more about crypto prices two months from now as is going to be a total different scenario!

That's my man. I bought last year 25000 steem at $3 ; did't regret for a minute. I learned so much here on steemit about Crypto. Worked hard whole year, buying, buying. I buy every day with steem dollars. I'd tripled my investment til now. Can you imagine steem at $100?

That's good going to stick at it, even after the big steem crash and you still came out smiling :) that shows you have a heart of steel, which is what you need in this game.
Wow, $100 that really would be something, but honestly I will be happy with $10 that would make all my dreams come true. B)
Thanks for the feedback

I keep seeing predictions here and there about the potential value of Steem come year end and I'm constantly asking mysef what is steems real value and place among Cryptos, what does it bring to the table and is it a necessary solution? I am fairly new and addicted to Steem but am sometimes reminded that its more than a social Platform of sorts, there is real money involved here and real expectation that it will become a true viable means for us to conduct future business. Any feed back would be greatly appreciated from those of you that have already invested so much into it.

I can imagine Steem at $100 but i don't think it will go that far. To be honest i can see it back over $2 and then slowly slowly growing and i think it will reach $10 easy but.... who knows maybe one day it will be $100 so all of us will be very happy. At the end of the day in the crypto world everything is possible!

This is really smart. So many people would benefit on any alt coin investment if they just had to live with it for 3 months.

Pretty much guarantee you will make money doing that. Everyone that makes a lot HODLS.

I haven't lost nearly as much because I only just bought Steem last week and didn't buy as much as you. But I agree completely. It doesn't bother me at all. I am liquidating as much cash as I can so that when prices drop to my target I can start buying in increments.

That's the way to do it, having targets and buying in increments, that's what I should of done in retrospect, I'm more of impulse buyer, I saw the price dip to 1.57 and thought nows my chance, not thinking about the bitcoin segwit coming up.
Nice comment Thx @clemdane

Hey thanks to you, too. I am normally an impulse buyer(!) I just am working really hard to rein myself in and start doing things more systematically. I know if there's a Bitcoin crash followed by an "Everything's okay after all. The fork didn't happen/doesn't hurt anything" then I'll want to jump into BTC with everything I have. I am going to try to do things more systematically, though.

Feels reassuring to see your confidence in Steem. I'm also planning to invest in cryptocurrency in the future, and this is where I want to invest first. I'll be happy to have peace of mind too after investing. :)

You can't go wrong with steem and steemit, It's growing everyday, I believe in it a lot more than my bank. Thanks for stopping by

I love how people with money can invest on cryptocurrencies and actually make a difference for a big community like this one. Thank you for doing this. :) Liked & followed

I'm just starting out. Taking tips from pro steemians like you. Cryptocurrency world is way too volatile these days. Aug 1 seems like a judgement day. Let the Aug 1 pass. Steemit in itself is valuable platform apart from monetary consideration.

I agree it's volatile, but for some strange reason I believe in it much more than my bank.
I do think the more people that join steemit the harder it will be for new people to build up their blogs without investing.
I have been here 3 months and I still have a long way to go before I make a name for my self. That said I am enjoying every minute, and I hope you do too. :)

I'm waiting for the end of the month and hopefully I can convince my wife that this is a great place to put some of our money. It won't be much but it will give me some extra SP and hopefully grow in value too.

Yeah I agree with you ... I'm just waiting for this seg-wit to happen and I'm all in !!

Good thinking, there is only one way it can go after 1st August. :) good luck convincing the wife @fanstaf :)

Indeed , that would be a freak out situation if it was a FIAT bank account :-) But investing in Steem/Steemit is a good way to go long term, it has a useful platform to back it up. All my posts are 100% powered up, and I did grab some EOS a few days ago.

Cool, I'm glad I am not the only one who feels this way, I did get a funny look from Louise when I told her we lost $3k and I said "but it's fine, nothing to worry about"
Nice one for getting some EOS, great minds think alike :)

Sounds like you have a great partner there @markehittam ! Most spouses would hear that and bounce off the wall! But I'm with you, just wish I had some spare change like you to get in on these low prices. But I can still post and comment and earn that way. The joys of Steem.

Yes @intothewild I think she just trusts me now as I have always seemed to make the right decisions when it comes to investing. :)

Agreed - everything is going sideways for a while, not a big deal, once bitcoin get past its "upgrade" things will start to recover. But if you are in it for the long run, ups/downs along the way are expected and required.

You seem like you know what you are talking about, Thank you mate!

Hey Mark, side note - I created a new account just for my hydroponics and gardening- keep that stuff separated from my photography and all. I will only post hydro/gardening to the new account @steempowergarden

ha ha! But now what is it? A roller coaster!

Hehe, yeah hold on tight :)

I really feel the same way. Hope we will see a big grow to around $10 after 1aug.;)

Yeah! We should get there, especially if people start upvoting the posts they comment on instead just upvoting their own comment :[

Me too i believe in investing in steem for the long term! :)

Just think in a month or 2 when steem is at $10

Sharing the positive of this message!

You have to see the positives in times like these, some people take money way too seriously.

Steemit, Inc. has not even begun to advertise for steemit and they still have a waiting list. It'll explode soon.

Wow this is good to know, I think when you have something this good then you don't need to advertise, a bit like Tesla. :)
Thanks for the feedback @dwinblood

Yeah I wouldn't worry about steem taking a little dip ... after this august 1st all the coins are going to skyrocket once again. Awesome post!

Yapp my thoughts exactly :) this could be the last chance to get it while it's cheap.
Thanks for the compliment.

Well said i am gonna buy more aswell!

It could still go lower, but after 1st August I only see it going up.

i love people like you. how brave you are, risky and thirsty of life and success. i am sure you will get your point while i am still stack in fear that steem price will go at the level of no value or worse i will lose my steem password somehow :D don't know but so many fears i can't risk money in there. i appreciate what you have done because i can't do that, appreciate your bravery.

Thank you @celestialme
Fear is our biggest enemy, worrying is a waste of imagination, once I figured out the whole password thing then I just went for it. No regrets in life is the only way to live.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us :)

great to see someone who believes in the platform :)

You will too once you've been here a few months :)

Steem is soon back 1.50$

That's the spirit :)

Yes it is :)

Yeah I'm not worried about it right now. I'm such a minnow I'm able to keep the value of my account from falling ><. I guess that's one advantage of being so small is that you don't feel the swings as much.

There is positives and negatives in everything. It's all about focusing on the positive and keep steeming on.

awesome positive vibes to the moon!

To the moon first then the stars :)

in my opinion good opportunity for long term,at least i hope :-)

I don't see it going backwards when there are so many people joining everyday, not just steemit but all crypto's
:)

Keeping the good spirit as you do is the best way to react.
You are already a winner.
Wishing you all the best.
Bright blessings.

Thank you @dimitrya123
I think you are right, and yes I already feel like a winner just being on steemit :)

I am jumping in with both feet as well, I saw the potential that Steem has and decided to invest all of my money into Steem. I love the community here and the support is amazing. I started less than a week ago posting, and iv already got 16 followers. I love that I can share my experiences​ with everyone here. Im in it for the long haul and hope it takes off for me. Good luck! and I know your smile will get bigger as time goes on.

Thats great, go for it. The community feeling here is amazing, and feels genuine. I'm am sure your investment will bring you a nice return in a few months time and until then enjoy interacting with the amazing people on steemit. Keep on steeming on :)

I'm with ya sister... I'm gonna watch until Aug 1st and have my monies ready to buy!

Sorry brother, I'm a man with a beard and hairy back, that was the only picture I could find that represented my trying not to look at the Steem price falling :)

So you made 131 steem power in 2 weeks. That's a great idea what you did.

Yeah, actually I think it's more like 250/300 because I have donated a lot of that. So yeah I have nothing to complain about.
Steem ON!

Good fortune has to follow intelligence and generosity. Steem on for sure.

Really enjoyed post thanks , the brighter side is always a plus especially in the long run. Thanks again . Upvoted and resteemed !! Steem on !!!

Thank you @rustynut glad you enjoyed the post, have a steeming great time :)
Oh and thanks for the resteem I really appreciate it :)

very positive perspective - wish you amazing ROI!

Thank you @anialexander for your positive feedback, of course I'm hoping for a great ROI, but if not then I'm still going to continue having fun here on steemit :)

Well after such a post, you sure are going to get comments ;)

at today's current value you lost money, but you did accumulate more steem. If you believe in the platform, continue holding and you will thank yourself in the future.

My thoughts exactly :)
Thanks for stopping by @paulygg

Thanks for the info. I hope it goes up! Ill be investing too. Keep steemin!

⚡ I shared that article on FB. We should get SP for that too 😊

That's some confidence inspiring post for a newbie like me. Thank you :)
Upvoted & Followed.

Thank you @dheerajdj I still consider myself a newbie after 3 months, so much to take in here :)
Enjoy your time here

Awesome spirit. 🤘🏻

Followed and resteemed

Thank you @jawadms
We really appreciate you doing that

I also believe in steemit, I also invested. Not as much but every bit helps! Steem on fellow steemian..:)

Man if i had any extra to invest i definitly would but i've not put anything into steemit besides content!

For some that's all thats needed, and I looks like that method is working for you. :)
Thanks for stopping by @jasonrussell

Yep, you did not lose your money, you invested them. If you had invested in real sector economy, you would have seen results and returned your investments after years. With steemit you have a chance to see sky in diamonds in few month). And as far as you do not use leverage you are in safe. Dont worry, be happy ©

follow me please

I dumped a second mortgage into silver at $23. Paid it off while it was affordable. Such is life. If you don't hold it you don't own it. But while you have it, make it do good things !!!

Yes I also have gold and silver buried, I am well up on gold, but down on silver. Just waiting for the price manipulation to end. :)

I want to be a bajillionaire so I can own Steem and build my daughter's Mystery Planet......

Hahaha never give up till you make that dream a reality ;)

Lol! Glad you feel good about it!

Congrats!
I feel its a wise investment and while its true u can "loose" a lot of account value when the price goes down, you can also profit a lot in account value as the price goes up, which it most likely will one day.
Though whats really great about this is that u can USE that investment no matter what the value of steem is at EVERY day to not only help the community but also profit of of that SP with your vote.
I feel its a great investment and if ur serious here willl probably pay better than any other investment u have made.
SteemON!

Yes @quinneaker I do believe this will end up being my best investment. I can feel it in the air that steemit is going places and if it doesn't, well then I've still had great fun connecting with this community.

That my friend is a positive attitude!
Even more important than positive money!
SteemON!

The choice to invest is very hard

I am new to steemit and these are necessary guidelines. Thank you

I agree with your picks: Steem and EOS. Recently I just added IOTA into my speculative portfolio. While the market has "recovered", I believe the market manipulators will drive the price down again. Frankly I was a bit disappointed that Steem didn't hit 50 cents because I would have loaded up and convert at least half of that into Steem Power. But another "crypto currencies sale" may be coming sooner than you think.

That's funny because even though I didn't want to see my account go down anymore in value, I was still kind of hoping for 50c steem so that I could really load up.
Yes, I believe the price will go down again before it really takes off.
Actually My friend is holding some IOTA aside for me as I haven't got round to setting it all up.
We'll see what happens :)

I bought in around $1.87 and then again around $1.05... Missed the $0.85 because bitcoin was being a bitchcoin - slowwwww!

I appreciate your calm navigation of the down turn :)

your money not lose,because average investing need time for profit.
steemit too.but i sure steemit will be make rich you.