An evil yet good Idea?... Someone Please do this... steal this idea from me!

in #steem6 years ago
I'm pretty tired of the memo spam. Honestly, sportic, the whale dude, the hottopic, all of them as far as I'm concerned offer nothing to this blockchain and their business model is just bamboozling new users into thinking that "Resteeming" is the way you gain new followers and support. It's the equivalent of snake oil on the steemverse.

So, I was having some evil thoughts last night, and I might have figured out a way to kill the little botty bots. Yes, you heard that right. Now, I don't have all the information regarding this very subject and I may be wrong about it completely, but I'm putting this out there in case a developer has the time and ability to make this happen.

Drain them out, leech them


I think the way that they work is that they are "listening" for transfers being made to promotion services and bidbots. This of course I have no way of confirming, but at least it seems that I get memos if I send money to @smartmarket every single time. Now, I'm not too good at placing bids with bots, so I don't use them, but I suspect the same would happen if the SBDs or STEEM were sent to one.

So here is the evil plan that would actually be good:

A developer who owns a bot, could program two accounts to send money back and forth from the puppet account to the bot and back, until the resteem leeches run out of funds.




I've prepared visual aid to convey how I think this whole thing would play out. If the evil plan succeeds, then the little bots would run out of funds, and hopefully they will close shop soon after.

Now, what could we do with the drained funds you say? We could start a @spamfighter account or something and use their own swords against them. You see how amazing this whole idea is? pffffff!!!!!

/me congratulates himself

On a serious note


Is this possible? Who knows exactly how these botty bots are working? If you are a developer yourself, talk to me, tell me why my evil plan would fail, I wanna know.


• Special Edition of Songwriter ShopTalk co-hosted by Zipporah - Full Recording
• Special Edition of Songwriter Shop Talk Tonight
• Time to get even more serious peeps
• Money where my mouth is - Celebrating 7k SP
• It's because I'm afraid to die

Sort:  

🤣 i have done this once! not by a bot, but I was curious to see how far he will come. 10 transactions and I gave up!

so it could work granted its automated... yus!

yes it works 😁

these resteem bots are scam! useless... I believe they will dilute soon in the ecosystem

I mentioned this idea to @abh12345 a month or two back. I think they will work on a limit of memos per account though. What would have to happen is many accounts each day would have to send 0.001 SBD or Steem to bots.

Now, here is the interesting thing. They generally group them so you may get 3 or 4 memos with a 0.001 transfer. Essentially, everyone who takes part in the drain will make 2-400% profit on each the transfer. It isn't a great deal but for some, potentially worth the effort to take part.

It is like sending junk mail with free-postage back to sender. They will still pay and if everyone does it, it will put them out of business incredibly fast.

Yes!!! I say we make it so.... they really gear my grinds bigtime!

I get those memos all the time and I haven't used an upvote bot for months, so I don't think they're using the bot usage as a target for their spam. I suspect it's more like basic activity on the platform that they look at for their target audience. I'm sure I could be wrong on that, it's just my guess.

we should run some tests... im going to ask @themarkymark - see if he's down to test something with me.

I like how you think @meno you're a force to be reckoned with!

Me encanta esta frase: Ahora, ¿qué podríamos hacer con los fondos agotados que dices? Podríamos comenzar una cuenta de @spamfighter o algo así y usar sus propias espadas contra ellos. ¿Ves lo increíble que es esta idea? pffffff !!!!! / me felicito
Sinceramente no soy programador, pero me llamo mucho la atención respecto a este tema, ya que es genial ver tus intenciones de mejorar la plataforma, de hacer que todos los que estemos en este ecosistema, seamos "reales" y dejar de tener cuentas fantasmas que solo nos quitan visibilidad
Gracias @meno
I love this phrase: Now, what could we do with the depleted funds you say? We could start a spamfighter account or something and use their own swords against them. See how amazing this idea is? pffffffff!!!!!! I congratulate myself
I'm honestly not a programmer, but I'm very interested in this subject, because it's great to see your intentions to improve the platform, to make everyone in this ecosystem "real" and stop having ghost accounts that only take away visibility
Thanks @meno
Again...
THANK YOU!

Another thing would be to have a transfer threshold of 0.01 instead of 0.001. It's like that 0.001 was intended to be used for such purposes.

I remember @drakos talking about increasing that a while ago... can't remember why people cried foul, i dont see a problem with the increase.

The Great bot drain of 2018! I'm in just set a time and date and I'll use my sticky frog skills to drag them out!

now we is be talkings!

Will join in on the fun if we get a big enough group doing it.

Amazing @meno. They use to send me memos when I use @minnowbooster and @tipu. I know that I could send memos for both and they send me back my money. I don't know how much we need to do to empty the spammer bots, but I know that is very simple.
I have a code here that could do this... But I don't know if both accounts could think that we are spamming them to damage they or not.

i suspect the code for all resteem bots is the same... just clones... so maybe we make em lose enough for them to repent a little bit.

Interesting, but just a little side-note: whoever spams transfers to @smartsteem / @smartmarket will get blacklisted without refunds.

ooh that's a good move... but can you imagine making a little bot drainer account... even call it @botdrainer - setup only that account as a weird "whitelist" and refund it right away. The idea would be that the spammers would memo the account "buying promotions" over and over.

hahahahah it could work... it might not, but at least it would be hilarious.

I know, but those transfer would create unnecessary transactions for Smartsteem. I do like the idea of draining the funds, don't get me wrong!

Hi @meno, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @spamfighter doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

I think checky is your most loyal follower. Not a post of yours goes by without his ready to save the day

ya dude... ima get a flagbot made just for checky!

checky... i wanna be whitelisted from yous... All muh mistakes are on purpose! BAD CHECKY BAD!

You got a 49.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Personally, I would like to be able to refuse transfers under a certain amount or at least to refuse memos with them.

So basically, add a new per-account property called the "dust memo threshold," have it default to 0.001 so that existing systems don't break, but allow accounts to set a higher value with an Account Update transaction.