You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is UX and why it's the #1 Problem holding Steem back.

in #steem5 years ago

I don't know the macroscopic picture on user retention and my perspective on that is largely anecdotal. I've onboarded plenty of users myself and I know why they eventually left, and their complaints were legitimate.

I don't know much about the technical limitations stopping mass adoption either, but I would love for that to be the problem we're facing instead of what we're dealing with now.

Not familiar with @theuxyeti, I'll check some of their stuff out, if they're still around.

Sort:  

Yes you definitely have to be willing to put up with a lot of crap to stick around on Steem, not arguing that point LOL But I just think a lot of people have unrealistic expectations for user retention given that this is still primarily a blogging platform. Blogs never have high user retention, and as long as that is the primary use case, no amount of UX improvement will change the fact that most blogs are eventually abandoned.

I agree, blogging is dead. although occasionally I still stumbled upon Medium (or Smashing Magazine for free wallpaper :D).

Is there any demographic data of the steem users? I always feel that steem is for old folks. Lol. (By old, I mean, > 30s) Even the best front end like steempeak still gave me those feeling...
IMO marketing without targeting the right demography is almost impossible. It will also defining how the UI/UX based on that demography preferences...

I always feel that steem is for old folks. Lol. (By old, I mean, > 30s)
Hey I resemble that remark!

Moi aussi. Just turn 35 this month. I'm feeling old. Lol.

Old people unite! Lol