You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Proposal - Account Rating System

in #steem4 years ago

I don't agree. Experience is a factor that makes some opinions more qualified than others. So account-age should contribute as a factor.

That is a good point and one that I considered. However, I think you and I coming at it from different problems. I think you are more or less looking into governance issues and I am looking more into social issues.

While I think the ARS could be a factor in a number of different blockchain aspects, I am not necessarily advocating for any at this point. I think the system would have to be in place for a while before it could ever be applied to anything like governance. That being said, it could easily be coupled with other factors and weighted appropriately for the information it provides.

For example: Account A has a generally unfavorable rating. It's age is 3 years, it has 2,000,000 SP. Should that account be allowed to do x?

Maybe. The point is that the ARS is only one factor in many. It is a single variable and within the scope of that single variable, everybody has to have an equal voice.

That's also why I advocate for keeping but renaming the current "Reputation" system. Does offer some information and I would say that you can tease out the importance of an account based on their rep score. The idea is that, if all other factors were removed, a person with more SP might be considered more important than someone who is not. Likewise, a person who is has garnered a high amount of support might also be more important than a per who doesn't.

In my mind, dapps and blockchain applications could develop their own algorithms how they see fit.

suitability rating = Importance Score * CSI score * UA score * Account Rating * account age

or something like that.

Sort:  

As @blocktrades explained, the REP system was quickly programmed as a bandaid for STEEM. What I say is that DPoS is a blockchain protocol that suited Bitshares well. Bitshares is no social blockchain.

For a DPoS protocol to really serve a social blockchain implementation, it needs to evolve into a REDPOS, because the human aspects of accounts need to be an inherent part of the protocol, not just an add-on, a bandaid.

DPoS is like a "general use" blockchain protocol and STEEM was built on that. A "NEWSTEEM" will face similar issues if a social blockchain oriented protocol isn't developed first.

Ok, I just think the devil will be in the details of how that protocol works. In that sense, I think any algorithm will have to take subjective qualitative analysis into account. The ARS could be a possible avenue for that information.