Using my Steem for Good

in #steem6 years ago

I've been wanting to join a CSA for awhile now. I purchase a lot of my vegetables from local farmers markets during the summer and @donvee and I were members of a CSA about five years ago. With the timing of the membership sign-ups being just a month after Christmas, finances always seemed too tight to sign up again. Who has a few hundred dollars to spare for vegetables you won't see until the summer?

I joined Steemit last July, but only started posting last month. With a few of my posts, thanks to the value of steem, I was able to purchase a weekly share from https://www.dancinghenfarm.com/. I'm so thankful to be able to use my Steem dollars to support a local farm and give back to my community. Each year @donvee and I grow a small garden, but we mostly end up feeding the rabbits and deer in our backyard. Our local CSA is a small, family-run farm that uses organic growing methods (they're working toward getting their organic certification).

Our first box won't be until June, but I'm already starting to plan some meals using our organic vegetables. Farmer Don at Dancing Hen usually grows a lot of Asian greens to start off the season. We can probably expect to start off with bok choy, Chinese cabbage, kale, snow peas, and arugula.

I know many people hold on to their steem dollars, but I felt like cashing some of mine out was the right thing for me at the moment. What are some of the ways you've used your steem to improve yourself?

steem dancing hen post.jpg

Sort:  

I'm so excited that you joined the CSA! Dancing Hen Farm sounds like they grow an interesting variety =) I can't wait to start my seeds!

Awesome!
CSA’s are great! The one we loved, no longer brings boxes to our area. I’ll have to check this place out!

I’ve been using Steem to purchase tech for some new hobbies that I really enjoy...mainly photography and drone related stuff.

I'm planning on buying a new camera for my next big steem purchase. I'd like to get something before we go to Glacier National Park this summer. Then I can stop posting shitty cell phone pics

That will be a great trip!