#CraigsCryptoJourney01 - Cryptocurrency for newbies.

in #steem7 years ago

CRYPTOCURRENCY-facebook.jpg

When exploring the realm of cryptocurrencies it's not only easy to get lost but for an amateur it's rather inevitable. It's a simple yet complex concept and quite frankly, the possibilities are endless. With conversations and heated debates surrounding the digital trading phenomenon beginning to pop up at just about every social gathering I attend l, it's been pretty hard not to take notice. One thing is for sure, just about damn near everyone's an expert on the matter where opinion often overrides fact. But, where to start, what does it all mean, where did it begin, how it's used and most importantly, what does a future of a cryptocurrency world look like? These are the questions I'm interested in exploring, here on Steem, with you. I'm ready to ask a million and one questions and bring you the best answers from the best sources. I'm on a personal mission to learn about this elusive yet popular economic trend through curating and creating content dedicated to this topic.

http://imgur.com/a/Clb7z

While cryptocurrency is not yesterday's child, it's still a fairly new concept in mainstream South Africa. Your obvious privileged Tom, Dick and Harry are "defos" jumping on what's considered the next gold rush but your average local joe has no real clue what a Bitcoin even is. Personally, I've been trying to keep up to date on how everything works, the blockchain technology, the various types of currencies and how it is traded. I mean BITCOIN just hit a market cap of $40,000,000,000 (and no, I didn't add one too many zeros). To me it's fascinating. It's evolutionary and soon, I hope soon to be viral and perhaps a way of life - a man can dream right?

"so exactly how many different types of cryptocurrencies are there currently? " I asked mate this past weekend, to which a few answers were close to: "about 9? 10? Right?"

Wrong.

There are well over 900 different cryptocurrencies in the world. I repeat: There over 900 different uncontrolled, ungoverned currencies activity trading in the world.

I was, I still am - mind blown!

I decided to dig a little deeper to attain a list of the best trading cryptocurrencies and I came across the one of the more informative site, stocked with comprehensive details on 952 currencies to be exact. The site also gives you - in order- the name, market cap, the current price, the circulating supply, and it's movements as of this minute, over the past 24 hours and over 7 days giving you a clear indication of how each currency is doing. Pretty nifty huh?

Cryptocurrience tool.PNG

There are specific tools on the site to help you watch the movers and shakers, which currencies are the biggers gainers and which are the bigger losers over a 24 month period.

Cryptocurrience gainers.PNG

Here are the top 20 currencies at this moment.

1 Bitcoin
2 Ethereum
3 Ripple
4 Litecoin
5 Ethereum Classic
6 Dash
7 NEM
8 IOTA
9 Monero
10 EOS
11 BitShares
12 BitConnect
13 Zcash
14 Stratis
15 AntShares
16 Steem
17 Waves
18 Veritaseum
19 Gnosis
20 Dogecoin

Cryptocurrience top rank.PNG

Do you own any of the following currencies?

I'd love to hear what all my followers are trading. I'm getting involved in Steem (especially from a content creation side) as we speak but personally, I have a bigger interest in Ethereum and Bitshare.

As I said, this is my first step into the journey and I look forward to having you all along for the ride with me. I'm going to be asking a lot of questions. So bear with me and be patient. And most of all, help me :)

All your feedback will be welcomed & comments greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

SITE: https://coinmarketcap.com/all/views/all/

Sort:  

that's pretty helpful thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

Thanks for reading. Any feedback is welcome :)

Before I discovered Coin Market Cap I thought there was only around 100 cryptocurrencies. I was going from what I saw on Poloniex. I'm still blown away when I hear investors talking about coins I've never heard of. Up to now I've tended to stick with BTC, Dash, LTC, XMR and such. Time for me to start branching out more!