You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clarifying my decision not to support EOS-related posts and witnesses (100% of post rewards donated to curation initiatives)

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I run an EOS newsletter that I publish on http://thisweekineos.com which I also publish on steemit. I am also an ethereum developer. So keep my biases as well as my expertise in mind when reading about my opinion.

The biggest objection that jumps at my face is that steemit competitors can be made with any other smart contract platform of which EOS is but one of many.

If you do not believe me, take a look at https://peepeth.com/ which is a twitter-like dapp running on Ethereum, a smart contracts platform supporting less transactions/sec than EOS. If a twitter clone can be made on Ethereum what is stopping anyone, right now, from making a steemit competitor on any other platform? Should people be ostracised for making posts about Ethereum or NEO because a steemit competitor can potentially be made on those platforms?? Of course not!

Because steemit is such a genius, awesome idea should it not be expected that a competitor be bound to come up? The fact that one is planned on EOS rather than all the other smart contract platform does not warrant going to war with the smart contract platform itself.

Of course, in this case block.one themselves are interested in doing a steemit 2.0, but it's easy to see that even if block.one was out of the picture someone else would have come up with steemit 2.0 on another smart contracts platform.

Therefore, EOS is NOT a steemit killer. It is just a generic smart contract platform like any other smart contract platform and should not be held responsible if someone uses it to make a steemit competitor.

Sort:  

Competitor, definitely not killer. And I'm OK with the competition if they bring it. My only point is that I choose not to use my Steem votes to build it for them.