You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Update: Operations Stable

in #steem6 years ago

I feel and understand your perspective, however, my choice to not be voting up content luckily does not change the economic opportunity for creators — rather when I don’t vote, it allows more to be distributed by others. The same amount of “pie” is available and arguably more, when I don’t eat any.

Sort:  

True, like it or not.

Would you ever consider delegating a piece of that pie? I'd eat it wisely.

I've been a member since 9/20/2016. I started with nothing and didn't know anyone.

Since then I've been able to amass a small fortune of 23250 SP. I've taken the organic approach to all of this. A reputation of 71.7 given to me by the community; not purchased.

I produce my own unique style of digital art and combine that with words of a humorous nature, most days. Other days I'm trying to be creative, telling a good story, or simply rambling on about nothing. There aren't many entertainers on the platform but if one was to stick a label on me, I guess I'm one of those, or at least try.

In many ways, I've already proven one can make a living doing this. 98% of what I've earned here, stayed here, as proof of what can be accomplished. The other 2% was reinvested; some of those profits came back to this platform to replace what was missing.

Of that 23250 SP, 1085 was earned through curation. I've pressed that magic button manually 21202 times as of this writing.

I believe these recent changes now offer a greater incentive to curate and power up than ever before. I thought that's what people wanted. While so many were up in arms claiming these changes won't work, saying people won't be able to get anywhere; it didn't take me long to realize it's not all up to head office. There are thousands of people here, all they have to do is push the button. Those at the bottom will only stay there if we hold them there.

I'd like to be able to press the button more often. I prefer to support timeless content and interesting people. Those with a strong work ethic, the ability to entertain or captivate their viewership; they stand out in my eyes. Those writing books, producing music, showing off their art and photography, leading interesting lives and sharing that here; they typically see my vote. I'm not interested in only supporting certain groups. A seasoned veteran, new member, everyone in between; they all deserve their shot. I'm not interested in flag wars or using the vote as a way to take sides in debate.

I'm not part of any groups here. Somehow I've managed to experience some measure of success while being an outsider the entire time. I rarely make appearances outside of this platform to chat with the locals or take sides in our politics, though I've been invited several times.

A long Canadian winter is on the horizon. That means I'll have plenty of time to spend evaluating content and taking on the role of curator seriously all while maintaining a high standard of professionalism.

I can take 'no' for an answer but a 'sure, why not' would be preferred. I'd put it to good use and if it was taken away, that only affects me, as an individual, rather than a large organization who's success depends on it; so it's not a big deal.

Thanks for your time.

Fair enough....just remember how important perception can be....especially now with the new HF and the potential it serves to bring a lot of new faces here.
You could be a great leader to this community, for many of us....I just don't want to see this kind of stuff dishearten new users as it is disheartening myself right now.
And @rest100 ....fuck yeah buddy...I'm so glad I brought you to steemit...we've ground it out since day 1 of arriving. #steemlifebaby
Now I need to go get my season one finale of Hots or Shots ready to release.
Peace and Love (when possible) to all of you!
#keepcalmandsteemon

TimCliff recently encouraged everyone to rally on social media to bring users to this platform. Well, this right here is why I chose to not participate. Do I believe in the potential of this platform? You bet I do. Do I think we're ready to onboard mainstream users into debacles like this? Uhhmm...no.

I don't trust the corporate machine behind this platform. I think blind trust is dangerous in any venue where leaders stand to gain more than the populace. I just wish there was more incentive for content creators to contribute here instead of other platforms. Here, it's a struggle just to stay alive.

He was actually rallying for INVESTORS, whatever that actually means, when he probably meant buyers or traders since investors actually put their money into a business to give it leverage upon which to grow, and this is a decentralized system. They can invest in a company like dtube or vimm.tv or zappl, they cannot invest in a blockchain, though they can invest in the company that allegedly makes it. And so on.

That said, can you imagine if he DID manage to bring some big money in just weeks before the pre HF crash and then the actual HF crash?

The internet would be on fire with angry "investors" and that kind of shit is hard to recover from.

But these guys are all so damn hell bent on being in a hurry, while falling over themselves slowing themselves down with mistakes, you'd think they were all like in their 20s and early 30s, fresh out of college and had no actual business or career experience or something...

or something

I had the same thought--"what if the social media campaign had been successful?" God almighty. Can you imagine the backlash after the fork? Makes me turn over in my grave and I'm not even dead yet.

bro ned just said hes gonna ban you from the front end!

Looks liek free speech is over

what say you @ned i mean the text doesnt lie

Observe @Blacklist-A:
Complete with censorship instructions stored by keeping them OFF-CHAIN because that's how management rolls around here, not using the product, because why would the guards live in the prison?

https://pastebin.com/h1unSks2

"@blacklist
Version 1.0.0.0

The Steemit @Blacklist uses a range of metrics to determine who's a repeat offender of plagiarism, hate speech, bullying, ongoing power-abuse and so on. The Blacklist is computer-generated and is updated irregularly to make sure bad behaving accounts get a quick flag so that other upvote-bots can avoid upvoting the blacklisted accounts and simply skip to the next post. The @blacklist-project is a much wider and further stretching authority than any of the singular up or downvoting guilds currently running on steemit, it is also complimentary to current projects in the same genre which are to keep the steem-blockchain unattractive for scammers, spammers and miserable trolls who are caught bullying or go after steemians in a power-abusive behaviour and so forth and so on.

The @blacklist account is a very serious project who aim to grow over the years with supporting bots and guilds respecting the black flag as the black flag is computer-generated by a popular opinion from a wide range of always active members of the community.

There are one way to get off the blacklist once you are on it, and that is to change your behavior from evil to good over your next 40 posts. Once you have reached that number you must send 40 STEEM to the @blacklist account with "REVIEW" in the memo. Someone from our staff will then manually look at your blog within the next 24-48 hours and remove you from the list if your account now qualifies for it.

The Blacklist contains between 200-500 accounts at any given time. The list grows or shrinks depending on user behavior (1) and user-reaction (2).

https://steemd.com/@blacklist-a

True...I hesitate. If I bring people into this mess after talking it up like I have.... I'd look like a fool...

sounds whiney and ungrateful, Stop deoending on others when you could be applying for federal grants and getting nmassive steempower for various projects liek getting peopel to quit smoking or loose weight... but you probobkly wont even apply for these grants https://grants.gov its so easy yet most steemians will assume they cant possibly buy steempower with a federal grant EVEN THOUGHJ YOU CAN and that money is tHERE for us, even if youre not American you can use me as your american to apply for this stuiff, its just so easy and all we gotta do is actually apply for grants, theres FREE money being PRINTED up and its our OBLIGATION to actually capture it and restore it to a moral system liek steem where it can be stored in steempower and then used in upvotes

Theres also all sorts of simpel ways to start getting ready for teh steemit inc IPO by promoting steem on instagram and using your post rewards to do what @jerrybanfield does but nooo we all just let jerry banfield do all that work and NO ONE follows him in his wake ! Its pathetic and you should all be shamed of yourself for not working by doing simple things like pouring money into posts about promoting steem on 4chan and reddit

reddit is perfect rercruiting tool and we ALL need to spend a few hours a day on there, making reddit posts, reposting those to steem, i mean come ON people its not that hard to work like an ANT colony of cryptocurrency sales people

become like the wofl of wall street!

Here is our new target for hard fork 21! mass adoption and marketing towards reddit r/bitcoin and 4chan biz users

I won't lie though, when I say it's been an honor to face that struggle.
It's been an honor to create content solely for this community....with this community.
My show has allowed me to meet some amazing people in this community, such as yourself @rhondak
I look forward to launching the new show and then planning season 2 of HoS.
#proudsteemian

I actually agree with this logic completely, and respect you for it @Ned. It would be nice to see more support for trusted curation groups though, seeing as currently curation isn’t getting much support.. and I think everyone can agree that it is an important part of the ecosystem here.

There are many great initiatives that work each day to improve this platform, while not trying to get something out of it. Some non profit curation groups to consider might be - @curie, @c-cubed, @travelfeed among others. As someone who spends hours a day trying to ensure those authors that add so much value to this place are seen, I would love to see you and Steemit Inc. be a bigger part of that.

Loading...