Downvote Bot Army rioting on Steemit 🤖 #2

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Hi to all Steemians out there! My name is Tom and in my last article (https://steemit.com/steemit/@networkallstar/downvote-bot-army-rioting-on-steemit-downvote-bot-armee-wuetet-auf-steemit-eng-ger) I blogged about the downvote bot @camillesteemer. I will keep it in english (I hope my german friends can forgive me ;) ) I blogged about it because I was fed up with the constant downvotes from accounts I didn't even know and especially the growing number of them also concerned me. I disclosed a list of all the bot accounts downvoting me, which grew by the hour because the linking seemed to trigger even more downvotes with my link list.

It is kind of creepy pushing on in this thing, especially as a minnow, because you don't know who you are up against, but I feel that it is my responsibility now that I started my first post - I cannot stop now.

First of all I would like to thank a few spirited Steemians who made me feel not quite so alone on this one. Thank you to: @mad-runner, @jorgebgt, @xpilar, @jeyf123, @muscara and many more for their kind and supporting words!

Now without further ado I will come straight to the point. During my research on the bot accounts I noticed masses of STEEM transits (I call them transit accs) through these accounts being passed on to @camillesteemer. I used this tool to get the history: https://steemyy.com/transfer-viewer/ (BTW - I don't know the developer and it is not advertisment ;) )

Now I know I am stirring up a hornets' nest with these screenshots and account links and I will leave these diclosures uncommented. You as a reader have to make your own opinion.

These account shots are only an excerpt! There are many more accounts like these. For me it is important to show you the pattern of how it is working, so here we go - I have 4 examples for you, that are directly linked to @camillesteemer:

https://steemitwallet.com/@vetun/transfers

(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)

Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

I agree that they are getting annoying because I got a few downvotes in the last few weeks. And just like you, I can not do much. I can not even block or mute them so they don't come to my posts. The good thing is that, they have very low power, almost negligible. I saw on another post that they were on blacklist anyway.

I'll keep my patience for now and just ignore them. Sometimes when you ignore people who are just trying to gain attention, they keep quiet. I hope they eventually do. 😊

In my humble opinion, these are accounts that should not exist, they are the scum of Steemit

Posted using Partiko Android

Echt nervig, aber ignorieren ist wohl fürs Erste das Beste. Hab auch schon ein paar Downvotes von diesen Accounts kassiert. 🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @networkallstar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

sagen wir's mal so, das Netzwerken haben sie im Griff. Ist ja in der Welt genau so. Wie unten, so auch oben.. oder wie das heißt.

Steter Tropfen höhlt den Stein😉 Der Roboter wird wachsen denke ich und an Einfluss gewinnen. Man muss schon zugeben, dass dem eine gewisse diabolische Genialität nicht abgesprochen werden kann... 🤔

ja, das kann man nicht abstreiten. Vielleicht kann man das am besten mit dem Frosch im Kochtopf-Klassiker vergleichen, der die Gefahr nicht merkt, bis das Wasser zu heiß ist. In der jetzigen Konstellation scheint es mMn noch ein Spaltungsthema zu sein, bzw. es erzeugt Unruhe nur durch die Präsenz. Das hat vermutlich damit zu tun, dass wir gern auf Farben (in diesem Fall grün und rot) konditioniert sind und deshalb einen Verlust wahrnehmen, der aber substanzlos ist.

Die Zeit wird es zeigen, ob es dann auch an die "Substanz" SBD geht...? ;)

Hi. Thanks for your answer. I do not clearly understand where you want to go.
I will give you my personal opinion. I do not agree with the downvote WITHOUT ARGUMENT or WITHOUT JUSTIFICATION. I have never made a negative vote for anyone. If I don't like a post, I simply don't give it my vote.
I also want to write something about the Down Vote because I don't like to check my posts and see that someone on a whim made me a Down Vote.
I will read more calmly this post to understand your argument. If we are in the same harmony I will give resteem and also try to quote you in my publication regarding this topic.
A cordial greeting @networkallstar

Sorry if I didn't explain myself well. I know you have not voted me wrong.
I have made a post where I quote this publication to get more support from other users. Hopefully your call of attention and mine make the necessary impact to PUNISH users who commit abuse with DownVote.

https://steemit.com/reflection/@marcybetancourt/reflection-on-the-downvote

dphwsjqtyt.png

You're really being followed by these down voters, just like me.
Just for this post, you've got more than 4 of them.
I simply don't understand why someone will invest in downvoting another person without dropping a comment for doing so.
Like in one of my posts where I really wrote about this downvoting of a thing. Even in that post, I still got downvotes.
I made a conclusion that they are newbies for I checked their profile and saw that they just joined this platform.

"It is all about the business"
Lol
It's very annoying whenever I see those bots downvoting my post

Downvoted for being intellectually dishonest.

Loading...

Intellectual dishonesty and /or imbecility.

Whats so emotional about downvoting you for intellectual dishonesty? ;)

I commented on your other post already. Thanks for that!

I wanted to add...

These accounts remind me (ideologically) of terrorists. They come from nowhere, we don't know who funded them, but they are armed with some weapons (from Steemit - who denies responsibility), and they're using their free ammunition (thanks HF21) to ping targets, swarming like mosquitoes. Sadly, their growth is guaranteed (even without outside input like transfers or delegations), and this is going to overwhelm the country (blockchain).

One thing about terrorist groups is, you have to look at who benefits from their actions. (aside from the obvious, which is the terrorists can't be wiped out, and will continue to grow no matter what)

Who benefits? Hmmm. Potentially, the insiders of Steem could benefit. Maybe they started this.... ie maybe like the USA started Al-CIA-duh decades ago, Steem is starting free downvote armies (terror organizations) which they can use to further a purpose, while getting the community (country) at home to back them up and not revolt (power down).

What kinds of things could get done, if there was public desire for it?

Well, somebody might say "you know what, these terrorists are destroying everything, we need to nuke them!" In other words, somebody is going to suggest we change the rules (do another HF) to "get rid of" the downvote army (terror organization).

But just like the Iraq war, it's not gonna work. We won't destroy the terrorists, we'll just make more.

And laws like the Patriot Act can get passed because there's public desire to do something dramatic, and people will give up their freedoms (beneficial blockchain rules/settings) in order to get perceived safety (removal of the downvote bot army). It's a bit like "Problem–reaction–solution".

Another thing somebody might want, is the power to delete accounts. Maybe a small court (some trusted witnesses perhaps) is going to be set up, that can delete (execute) accounts. Like a judge and jury, maybe both together, who knows? Some people believe in censorship, sadly, and some of them are at work on this chain. Officially it doesn't happen, officially.

In short, it's possible somebody created the downvote army to get certain rule changes put through on the blockchain, which will greatly benefit them and their investment here. (Or, it's some outside force that actually is doing it on purpose to bring down the blockchain.)

It's not an ignorable issue. We can try to ignore it a little longer, but unless the person(s) has a change of heart, this is going to continue. Besides, even if they back off, somebody else is gonna do it.

It's a mathematical (and human) certainty.

Please do! Glad to help identify a problem (especially before it gets too big to deal with). Hopefully increased awareness brings some ideas of how to stop the downvote armies before more drastic measures have to be taken to save the blockchain.