The most interesting Steem projects right now

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

The most exciting thing to me about Steem is the developer ecosystem that's emerging around the protocol. The network ownership effect associated with crypto token-based protocols can be extremely strong and that is starting to prove out in the Steem ecosystem.

Here's the most promising projects I've seen to date:

Bus.yt

The Busy Foundation has built a great UI/UX around Steem. Steemit.com has a very basic interface and I expect that there will be more interfaces built on top of the decentralized content protocols. Bus.yt is the best alternative interface that I've seen to date (although there are still lots of features that must be added for it to be a legitimate competitor to Steemit, like upvoting).

SteemQ

This product is not live and is just a prototype currently. But expanding to content beyond text is crucial for a decentralized content protocol and I like the vision for this project.

Steemy

Mobile apps will be crucial for the growth of steem. This project is still early but I'm a big fan of the branding and am excited about the future launch on iOS and Android.

Steemd

This is the go-to blockchain explorer for Steem. Track blockchain activity in real-time and search for things like Witness participation and user activity.

SteemPower

@CharlieShrem's first Steem project is providing an interface for users to make posts on Steem without needing to learn markdown -- useful in attracting new people to the protocol.

What am I missing? Please let me know in the comments!