You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring The 50% Curation Idea on Steem Blockchain

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Maybe I am missing something, but since I began on Steem last year I've always done a 50/50 split between what goes for my content on my pages and what goes back to the block chain.

Right now I'm using an app which is made it easier for me to post on this platform and to keep up with my pages. That sort of automation on my end, makes it easier for me to eventually make more original content. I have always looked at it like if I am putting 50% back into the block chain then I am building something, a community of sorts, and I am part of something bigger.

I'm not sure how this idea is a new concepts, especially since when you do your posts for content from the actual website itself, steemit.com for example. On the bottom you can donate part of your earnings back. It only gives the option for 50/50 or 0 I believe.

This makes me wonder, since I am using an app to post my posts currently how much I am giving back. I haven't actually checked it so that gives me something to do today.

I will have to go and check that and see what it is doing on new posts on this account and my other. That being said, I've never seen it is taking away from the original content because partially the whole concept of the block chain is that we are working together with other individuals of like minds to produce and promote something greater. Granted, there is a lot of shitposting.... that's always fun to wade through. But you're going to get that anywhere. People are always going to try to work the system.

A 50% curiatius and on a post means that that money is going back to support the block chain and just in the last year I have watched this platform grow. There other decentralized platforms for video, people are learning that they can take back the Internet, and people are having to adapt to technology which isn't going anywhere. The block chain allows people to post content that can't easily be censored, which in turn creates a digital database of humanity as it stands in the moment.

Beyond original content there's more that creators are putting out there, which is a dialog and empirical data that shows the state of the world today. Sociologically it is one of the best adaptations that humanity can do to preserve itself if it's used well and if it is promoted towards the betterment of us all. Giving back 50% allows us to do just that .

I still haven't figured out how to do bots or anything technological and admittedly I don't make a whole lot of money off of the platform. That being said, I've seen people that started in @minnowsupport such as @juliakponsford or @sammosk @gnasher that have been able to adapt and seem to be able to keep posting original content and make bank on posts.

No offense, not all of their posts are great. Many of them are and for that reason I use them as examples. But there are people within minnowsupport that helped build others up. For some, like myself, they get left behind... but plenty of them go on to curate what they want to see on Steem and this allows for a bigger pond for new minnows to swim in. This gives the opportunity for others to share their knowledge and put in on the collective social consciousness that the block chain supports.

If you come on here just to make money then yes I can see how 50% might seem like a lot. But if you're here for more than that and you're not just trying to cash in on the moment, then 50% makes a lot of sense because you're investing in something that you believe in for the future.

I may be naive but these are just my initial thoughts. I've only gotten through about 6 and a 1/2 minutes of your video and plan to watch the rest of it. If I have my thoughts I will come back and update / leave a reply.

I was mainly curious about how there was another way to not curate 50% and how there were other options that perhaps I did know about?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

World class comment!

Actually what you are talking about is the payout in STEEM/SBD that is 50/50. I'm not talking about that thing. At the moment 75% goes to original content creators and that is being paid out in 50% SBD and 50% SP. What this new proposal is saying is they want curators to get 50% of the early earnings.

That will say instead of the original content creator getting 75% they will get 25% less. That will say first you would just get 50%. Then the payout would split it into 50% SBD and 50% SP. They want to make a system that gives 50% to curators that just comes and upvotes something that is being created. That will say they want to get the same amount as the original content creator.

Thank you. I was confused. I have been reading more about it and I can see the reasoning for both sides. Though... it seems to me that ultimately, those that do prefer the 50/50 are those that have been on here investing in curation. Dies that split effect people who have made curation bots?

I swear, am an intelligent individual but technologies still confuses me a lot. It's like a never got caught up on the curve and now am at a loss lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Well the thing is that Stake holders think they bring massive value to the table. While content creators can 1000x leverage something. I did a talk today going in-depth in 21mins post how you could align everyone's interest for max value being created. Content Creators/Advertisers/Stake Holders. It would work.

Sweet. I'll have to check that out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Reading your posts!