Sort:  

I don't know that.

I am a dolphin (and was a redfish and minnow), and I make and have made, money on Steem. Ergo, not only whales make money on Steem.

In fact the most money I ever made in my entire life was while I was a minnow I won @papa-pepper's Daily Selfie Contest. @Papa-Pepper is a dolphin level account.

Let me guess, you were a minnow when Steem was at $6.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm interested where you are going with this, so I'll bite.

I became a minnow with steem around $1.75 and became a dolphin with steem at 27 cents. Thus I was a minnow when steem peaked, though I didn't get a chance to sell any at that time.

Your point is?

Everyone who says only whales make money here demonstrate they have no faith on the future of their holdings. 100 Steem valued at .30 US each doesn't feel like much (30.00). If 5-10 years from now it is worth 100.00 each that 30.00 valuation is now 10,000.00 US. That's only 100 Steem. Start adding zeros to that and it doesn't take much imagination to see what can be.

The potential for it is good, and I would ask how much Eth/Bitcoin/whatever alt is out there to get on a daily basis for posting, commenting and upvoting to those who complain on how quickly they can obtain it here. But, you can't get anyone to see something that they refuse to see.

Dear @practicalthought

I only had a chance to read your old comment just now. I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts with us.

Enjoy your weekend,
Piotr

Hi @ecoinstant

I was also curious what was his point? @ond? Would you mind sharing?

Cheers
Piotr

I mean it's impossible for the average user to earn Steem. No matter how much you try, how often you post or what kind of posts you write. The only people earning Steem are the Top 100. They have thousands of followers (many of them dead accounts of course) and keep getting new followers because when a new user is exposed to the same posts everyday promoted by these whales and see these people have thousands of followers, they will follow too. And it's shocking to me that the top 100 users have more power than all the others combined. Just take a look at the statistics. And many of them don't care about the network, just about their money. And they need new users in order to keep that money and not lose value. There are of course some initiatives trying to help minnows and promote new users. But most of them are very expensive for the average new user. So we see dolphins and whales again using these services and bots.

they are earning from the posts of minnows

what

Regards appreciated @ond.

All the opinions that can be found on the internet about blockchain, coincide in their democratic and transparent characteristic.
Steemit is blockchain.

Then your comment:

Steemit is an oligarchy.

If you are so unhappy with the politics of the platform, maybe this is not the best scenario for you.

But I love your frankness. People like you are necessary in life.
I´ll follow you starting now.

Thanks for your comment.
Yours, Juan.

Hi, great post and just to comment on @ond s comment. I think they generalised slightly on the 'only whales make money' comment. I'd suggest that only people with money make money here and without investment and support from big accounts, the new accounts go nowhere, get frustrated and quit. Even more so when they see the figures the top 'earners' on Steem are removing from the reward pool.
Steemit is in no way based upon quality of work, it is in most cases about playing a game which is biased towards intelligence and wealth. This also then brings in to play bias based on someones geographical location.
As you pointed out in your original and excellent post, the people who need the extra income Steem can bring into their lives are often at the most disadvantaged in their starting position.
Steemit is barely different from off chain life. It is controlled by wealth. The more wealth someone has, the more they need the minnows to survive and work to keep the platform running.
The analogy I have made before is that justvthe same as in real life whales feed on plankton. No plankton, no whales which is why the carrot of tiny reward and the hope to make moremone day isnwhatbkeeps the minnows here and new members from joining but in 99% of cases it is nothing more than carrot and stick.
As for the RC question. Its easily remedied but won't be.
Sp is delegated, this is a loan and if 50SP were delegated to new accounts on a strict 90day time limit or when theybhave made 50SP whichever comes first. There shoukd be no powerdown or withdrawals until it is paid back and this would give new accounts the time to work hard, find their way around and grow. Giving a 15sp delegation with no time limit is nonsense and does nothing except dishesrten new users and ends up stuck in an unused account when the new user gives up. A definite time limit loan always goes back to the lender and so gets recirculated. How much delegsted SP is stuck for ever in hardly used accounts? Millions no doubt.
This solution is simple, effective and will sort out the serously committed new members from the joiners who come just to mess around.
Again, great post and thanks @crypto.piotr for bringing a great new writer to my attention.
Best wishes to all who have contributed to this great thread :-)

The steemit delegations are removed on a per fraction basis as a user powers up. Earn 2 steem? You now have a 13 sp delegation.

My brother's account also showed me that they are removed for inactivity and 'snap back' when that person becomes active again. Much of what you say about delegation is based on assumptions that my experience are not true. I monitor the users to which I delegate, though not as efficiently as steemit inc.

Your point that is should be 50 and not 15 is interesting, and in my opinion they should use 15 to reach out and get 50. Check out @gtg's comment here.

Money talks, but in some senses steem is more democratic than anyplace off chain. Every SP counts. Its important to understand what steem is before we complain, that it is not something else.

Dear @nathen007

I just had a pleasure to read this old comment. Just wanted to let you know. I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts with us.

ps.
Did you perhaps consider using "enter" from time to time? To separate blocks of texts? It would make it much easier to read.

Yours
Piotr

Sorry mate! I get carried away and forget the formatting! Thanks for the tip :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @nathen007.

Thanks for those great ideas.

It is impressive to see how the mentality of everyone around this issue has been activated.

In the comments I received nomenos of 10 great ideas like yours that could solve the problem of novice RCs.

Yours, Juan.

Youre welcome my friend. There are also a lot of people happy to give 5 steem so they can buy a 90 day delegation of 50SP. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings friend @nathen007.
I greatly appreciate the acceptance that my publication has received.
I am extremely surprised by so much support. Thanks from my heart.

I take this opportunity to ask you a favor.

Knowing these difficult times that Venezuela is going through certain communities have decided to show it´s support by delivering food throughout the territory. Also giving it´s vote of healing to Venezuelan publications in steemit.

For this I am pleased to address you on behalf of my friendly communities @VOTOVZLA AND @STEEMCHURCH. Do you know them?

They are currently opting for a 20k SP delegation sponsored by @theycallmedan. This delegation would allow us to help more people and in a better way.

Maybe you can participate and VOTE for @STEEMCHURCH. Here I leave the link:
https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

Have a blessed day.
Yours, Juan.

Dear @nathen007

I would like to thank you for accepting my invtation to Juan's post and for dropping by. Appreciate your reply.

We're received more comments than I ever expected and reading it all will take me some time :)

I'm not sure if I ever mentioned (probably I did) but I'm helping group of friends win 1st place in small contest. Is there any chance you could help out and open this link to dpoll?

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

And drop a vote on SteemChurch.

I would absolutely appreciate it.

Yours
Piotr

Greetings friend @ond.
I greatly appreciate the acceptance that my publication has received.
I am extremely surprised by so much support. Thanks from my heart.

I take this opportunity to ask you a favor.

Knowing these difficult times that Venezuela is going through certain communities have decided to show their delivery of food throughout the territory. Also giving his vote of healing to Venezuelan publications in steemit.

For this I am pleased to address you on behalf of my friendly communities @VOTOVZLA AND @STEEMCHURCH. Do you know them?

We are currently opting for a 20k SP delegation sponsored by @theycallmedan. This delegation would allow us to help more people and in a better way.

Maybe you can participate and VOTE for @STEEMCHURCH. Here I leave the link:
https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

Have a blessed day.
Yours, Juan.

Dear @ond

I would like to thank you for accepting my invtation to Juan's post and for dropping by. Appreciate your reply.

We're received more comments than I ever expected and reading it all will take me some time :)

I'm not sure if I ever mentioned (probably I did) but I'm helping group of friends win 1st place in small contest. Is there any chance you could help out and open this link to dpoll?

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

And drop a vote on SteemChurch.

I would absolutely appreciate it.

Yours
Piotr

Dear @practicalthought

I would like to thank you for accepting my invtation to Juan's post and for dropping by. Appreciate your reply.

We're received more comments than I ever expected and reading it all will take me some time :)

I'm not sure if I ever mentioned (probably I did) but I'm helping group of friends win 1st place in small contest. Is there any chance you could help out and open this link to dpoll?

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

And drop a vote on SteemChurch.

I would absolutely appreciate it.

Yours
Piotr