You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still in Defense of a High SBD: Why Witnesses Should not Implement Steem to SBD Conversions Now-

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

As a minnow all you want to do is power up - through SBDs

After getting onto steemit a month and a half ago the price of SBDs jumped. I was lucky enough to convert some SBD to Steem at a terrific rate of 5:1 - adding to my post payout steem rewards in a major way.

In hindsight I find that the value of SBDs doesn't matter half as much to me as a favorable ratio of SBD to Steem does. If the ratio is unfavorable to minnows they may try to increase their ratio by commonly trading SBDs on exchanges before bringing the value back into steem and eventually SP.
Possibly regardless of SBD value.

I came here for the long run, and to a minnow like me there seems nothing more rewarding than to power up with satisfaction, feeling you actually invested in some sort of basis for the future - in a fair manner.

Instead of feeling you have "wasted" so many valuable SBDs for little to no share in steem due to poor conversion ratio.

I suspect many people would check out steem "regardless" of SBD value for its other promising appeals at first - word travels quickly.
That is until they find out first hand how tough it will actually be to power up to a significant level, hating themselves for not showing up earlier. It might send a lot of well-intentioned people away out of sheer frustration after they have seen in other wallets how much SP there is out there with earlier accounts.

If the power-up ratio sucks and both SBDs and Steem have 3 figure values one day I think the community might stop growing significantly (unless there is already hyperinflation in fiats everywhere ahahaha)

Then again maybe I just don't understand steemit's mechanics well enough, still learning... just my thoughts on SBD to Steem, since your question was worded so broadly. <3

Thanks for your article.