STEEM SCARE!

in #steem5 years ago

Oh my gosh! What a Saturday this has been.

This morning I tried to move some of my steem to open ledger so that I could increase my stake in bitshares.

Everytime I'd try and transfer, I would get an error message stating that I lacked owner authority using my steemit password. As I fiddled around to try and get the transfer to work, I attempted to change my password.

When I changed my password, again, a new password was able to be generated, but I still received the error message stating that I lacked owner authority. I tried three different browsers, including tor. I could not send my funds! I even tried the account recovery option, but this was not available for my account. At least that meant I probably had not been hacked...

Frustrated, I cleared my all data from my browser. To my horror, I was now completely logged out of my account. My original password was not working, and since I didn't think that the password change had been effective, I had not saved the newly generated password.

I dug and dug through my back-up files searching for evidence that maybe I had changed my password in the past and was not successful.

I was beginning to lose hope, and thought that maybe my steem adventure had perhaps come to a tragic end...

In a desperate final attempt, I located a file where I had recovered a file in which I had recorded the new password that I had previously generated, but never saved this password. I then used a completely new browser (internet explorer), keyed in my username, and tried the password.

I received an interesting message from steem indicating that I was using the wrong level key for my log in and recommending that I use my posting key only, but I was able to access my private keys!

Other browsers continued to bounce me - but through trial and error I finally regained access to my account.

I'm not sure what the original issue with my account was, but my funds are now safe, transferred and converted as intended thanks to the seamless performance of the openledger gateway.

I don't know what I would have done if I wouldn't have accidentally recorded my new password, even though I did not think the password change had been effective.

Hopefully, others do not encounter this same issue, as this is certainly a trap to loosing your steem.

Be Well!

Paws

Sort:  

Congratulations @paws1t1veev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!