Charts: How much STEEM is being transferred from and to the exchanges?

in #steem7 years ago

I wanted to know how much STEEM is being withdrawn and deposited on the various cryptocurrency exchanges... So I've made a couple of charts I would like to share with you :)

All data is coming directly from the Steem blockchain and is based on UTC time. The charts show only the amounts of STEEM. Not the Steem Backed Dollars (SBD).

Bittrex

Poloniex

Here we clearly see the problems this exchange has...

BlockTrades

Livecoin.net

Daily Steem Transfers from and to Bittrex & Poloniex

I plan to add this chart to my daily steem stats report, so please follow me if you want to stay informed :)

DateFrom BittrexFrom PoloniexTo BittrexTo Poloniex
2017-08-0869,500 STEEM0 STEEM80,876 STEEM100 STEEM
2017-08-0743,101 STEEM0 STEEM72,549 STEEM4,943 STEEM
2017-08-0654,046 STEEM0 STEEM27,849 STEEM35,415 STEEM
2017-08-0518,818 STEEM132,419 STEEM103,217 STEEM30,130 STEEM
2017-08-0445,403 STEEM432,479 STEEM343,307 STEEM11,089 STEEM
2017-08-0358,237 STEEM119,599 STEEM143,175 STEEM8,595 STEEM
2017-08-0244,864 STEEM0 STEEM78,116 STEEM0 STEEM

¯\___(ツ)____/¯ Follow me @penguinpablo for daily Steem statistics.

Sort:  

It seems the powering down is placing constant selling pressure on steem. Blocktrade and Bittrex illustrates it well.

yes currently there is a bit of powering down happening which creates selling pressure. i think this means there is a good chance to pick up some cheap steem in the next few days.

Based on the tiny volume of trades reflected in the actual figures listed above. I don't think there will be any cheap steem anytime soon. Unless $1.40 is cheap?
Which it could well be by this time next year. As some excitable people are predicting $10?
Who knows? Speculating is always a bit of a crapshoot.
Good post as always @penguinpablo

Polo has it's withdraws disable from time to time lately, as you can see in the graph. but when it is disabled there is an incentive for the price to fall as selling is the only way to withdraw. But as many trust polo to be back up eventually (as happens) there is also a great spot to but there.

Love the charts great insight, great to see more coming in than going out

Would be cool to see the net amount per day, summing across all exchanges.

This post received a 3.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @penguinpablo! For more information, click here!

interesting to see that people are predominantly buying steem on Poloniex and not so much selling there. Why would that be? Sure i know they had problems, but it doenst explain much why people continue to buy there but not sell....

It seems that people are withdrawing from Poloniex. They must have different balances in different coins there. In order to transfer to their respective wallets they choose which coin they see as the most potentially rewarding. So suppose you have 1000 XRP, but no Ripple wallet (a common thing), you convert to Steem (which is buying Steem on the exchange) and then withdraw to your Steem wallet. This makes the balance much safer, certainly if your trust in Poloniex isn't great. + you can use that Steem to convert to Steem Power and put it to good use!

Yep that makes sense indeed. cheers

So why is there so much selling of STEEM on Bittrex then? Is Bittrex considered more safe than Poloniex?? Why?

I'm not the expert here, but Bittrex is considered to be as safe as possible, for an exchange (which is also a lot less safe than your own wallet).

Also, it's not strictly a safety issue, Poloniex changed their Terms and Conditions. Many consider those unacceptable.

That is some great data. Thanks for this.

I wasn't even aware that Steem was on Livecoin..

I love watching statistics))) Many thanks to you for your work)))

hey

could you maybe also add some totals on the charts so there is a more clear view on the total difference value being added or removed

i.e.
total from bittrex, poloniex, all exchanges added up
total to bittrex, poloniex, all exchanges added up
total difference of all so we have a weekly balance

do not know if this is possible but would be interesting

great statistics steemit is reaching the sky <3

2 days ago when I looked up Bittrex's wallet and it seems to be more consistent than Poloniex. Also I made a user analytics tool (steemtracked.com) where you can see the progress of the reports you post.

Nice website. Good job! :)

Thanks, your SteemNow website gave me some inspiration!

Freakin Poloniex man ugh. But from the looks of it there are a few high drops but it seems to balance itself out over the days which is great news to me I think. I thought there was an issue with supply and demand like to many being pumped out on the network.

Very interesting great greetings from venezuela here I will leave a link for those who can help me thanks! https://steemit.com/help/@gr3g0r/hi-i-m-from-venezuela

I would be interested in seeing this same info done on SBD instead of Steem :)

Steem will easily double your money
checout recent steem chart on my profile

Great Work looks like it's a pretty good flow of STEEM out of Poloniex and into Steemit. That is a good sign that STEEM is about to go to the Moon!

You give so much information it will take me a while to digest it all. However it has made things clearer. I have one small question; as a new user (since July) can you explain clearly what steempower means? I see something at the top section of my wallet and exchange it when it's there. What is the best way to handle my wallet? Can you point me in the right direction at least. many thanks. JV

STEEM Power (abbreviated SP) is a measurement of how much influence a user has in the Steem network. The more STEEM Power a user holds, the more they can influence the value of posts and comments.

https://steemit.com/faq.html#What_is_the_difference_between_STEEM__STEEM_Power__and_Steem_Dollars

Thank you penguinpablo it's now crystal clear. Good to know that maybe my little votes can influence now and again. I only hope that Steemit grows and remains a good thing. JV

Looking forward to more charts and stats~!

Hello penguinpablo!
This is valuable stuff! The 108 votes and $38 I see on my screen send a bad signal to me, unfortunately. What you are showing is way more valuable than that!

 One of the problems with this voting system controlled by a few whales who happen to have a zillion coins from 'the early days' is that it assumes they have good subject-matter knowledge for assessing value across a huge range of topics. Nobody has that kind of encyclopedic knowledge, so people who do posting in topics where whales are very knowledgeable have the rest of us beaten right out of the starting blocks. I know this is a personal opinion that will make a lot of people angry; but I would guess that it has taken you a few hours of effort t earn $38! And that makes no sense, given the value of what you are delivering to the community.


Anyway, do you have daily/weekly/monthly series going back to early 2016?  I'd be glad to take averages over all trading venues; but I need to see the in-flow and out-flow volumes clearly ( their net is much less useful for my work). Yes, I will certainly negotiate to pay you far more than $38 for the best time series you can send me for analysis.  Thanks in advance.

BTW -- I see some focus here on the powering-down process on the time pattern of selling pressure. I would also like to try and tease out an estimate of the flow to the market (supply) arising from the never-ending mining of new coins to support author and curator payments.

Hello penguinpablo!
This is valuable stuff! The 108 votes and $38 I see on my screen send a bad signal to me, unfortunately. What you are showing is way more valuable than that!

 One of the problems with this voting system controlled by a few whales who happen to have a zillion coins from 'the early days' is that it assumes they have good subject-matter knowledge for assessing value across a huge range of topics. Nobody has that kind of encyclopedic knowledge, so people who do posting in topics where whales are very knowledgeable have the rest of us beaten right out of the starting blocks. I know this is a personal opinion that will make a lot of people angry; but I would guess that it has taken you a few hours of effort t earn $38! And that makes no sense, given the value of what you are delivering to the community.


Anyway, do you have daily/weekly/monthly series going back to early 2016?  I'd be glad to take averages over all trading venues; but I need to see the in-flow and out-flow volumes clearly ( their net is much less useful for my work). Yes, I will certainly negotiate to pay you far more than $38 for the best time series you can send me for analysis.  Thanks in advance.

BTW -- I see some focus here on the powering-down process on the time pattern of selling pressure. I would also like to try and tease out an estimate of the flow to the market (supply) arising from the never-ending mining of new coins to support author and curator payments.

Hello penguinpablo!
This is valuable stuff! The 108 votes and $38 I see on my screen send a bad signal to me, unfortunately. What you are showing is way more valuable than that!

 One of the problems with this voting system controlled by a few whales who happen to have a zillion coins from 'the early days' is that it assumes they have good subject-matter knowledge for assessing value across a huge range of topics. Nobody has that kind of encyclopedic knowledge, so people who do posting in topics where whales are very knowledgeable have the rest of us beaten right out of the starting blocks. I know this is a personal opinion that will make a lot of people angry; but I would guess that it has taken you a few hours of effort t earn $38! And that makes no sense, given the value of what you are delivering to the community.


Anyway, do you have daily/weekly/monthly series going back to early 2016?  I'd be glad to take averages over all trading venues; but I need to see the in-flow and out-flow volumes clearly ( their net is much less useful for my work). Yes, I will certainly negotiate to pay you far more than $38 for the best time series you can send me for analysis.  Thanks in advance.

BTW -- I see some focus here on the powering-down process on the time pattern of selling pressure. I would also like to try and tease out an estimate of the flow to the market (supply) arising from the never-ending mining of new coins to support author and curator payments.

I see you everyday bringing us news on STEEM. You may be interested in this @revelationquotes

The Cryptocurrency Challenge:

Bet on the Daily High and earn 50% of the posts (SBD):

[STEEM]
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@revelationquotes/the-cryptocurrency-challenge-steem-or-high-price-for-date-of-10-aug-2017-or-enter-today

Very interesting great greetings from venezuela here I will leave a link for those who can help me thanks! https://steemit.com/help/@gr3g0r/hi-i-m-from-venezuela