You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Smackdown Kitty

in #steem7 years ago

There is a rather large class of people for whom self-upvoting their main posts is the only way to see any return, what with curating being rather slack for many.

This has only been true for a handful of days so the way you've described it here is not really true.

It's precisely the "because I can" angle that the bot is designed to challenge. I get you, it's the incentive and why not? But I feel it's negative over all. We're highlighting an area that requires a systems level change.

Sort:  

In addition, I like experiments so much, that you can use me as a test subject. I will still be upvoting my own main postings, so that should give you something to work with.

Awesome, great attitude you have, disagreeing, and yet willing to try it out. Thank you

As I said in the edit, I would love to see this play out. I also believe the real offenders will circumvent your solution within hours.

This has only been true for a handful of days so the way you've described it here is not really true.

I experience and hear differently.

@l0k1 made the point of saying it was intended for determined offenders, the hope is to add friction to it. You'd be surprised how much UI affects behavior.

You know where I stand, so I am not saying this for myself, but I suspect that if you want more universal support, you should focus on the comments, not the main postings. You run the risk of forcing an opinion on people by bot, including people who aren't doing much wrong.

I'll definitely consider just targeting comments, perhaps you are right. The comments are problematic in a few ways. They worth of them is not really summarized on the post so it doesn't open the commenter to the kind of scrutiny that Steemit relies on to keep abuse in check.

You run the risk of forcing an opinion on people by bot, including people who aren't doing much wrong.

I don't understand what you mean. How is it forcing an opinion?

It is an opinion that self-upvoting a main posting is a Bad Thingtm; an opinion not shared by everyone. Using a bot to enforce that opinion could make you lose support. Saying that repeatedly self-upvoting spammy comments is a Bad Thingtm is also an opinion, but probably one shared by most users.

Also, to say that we should have self upvotes because some people don't want to or can't produce a post worth voting on, doesn't mean we should leave it as it is. Do we make able bodied people use wheelchairs to make wheelies feel better? I think genuinely disabled people find this insulting.