You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rethinking Delegation (Spread the Love far and Wide)

in #steem6 years ago

I have been wondering what these newer alternatives will mean for Steemit. One project I'm particularly interested in is APPICS. I think the interest is due in part because it feels like an opportunity to be noticed at the ground level. It's becoming increasingly more difficult, in my experience, to be noticed and build Steem here on Steemit. I'm not sure if that's due to the number of people now on the platform, or the reward pool being shared between a much smaller minority, but other alternatives will certainly appeal to content creators who struggle here.

Sort:  

The big elephant in the room is what happens economically when Steem scales? Will there be any money to be made here when we have millions of users? The reward pool will be spread even thinner.

It's a good question, and judging how it's getting more difficult already, I think that will probably continue as a smaller number of users effectively monopolise the vote power. If you look back at introduction posts for a year or so ago, some of them were earning rewards up to $5000! I believe my introduction post earned less than $1 in upvotes. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying I deserve more per se, but it's easy to see how some could be frustrated. Earlier posters could build their status up to dolphin with much less effort, and without investing.

There was also a unique feature back then. As now you would get paid half in liquid steem and half in steem power but you could not power down for 2 years. The liquid rewards were not being distorted by SBD value either. That meant that these people who got huge payouts still had a big stake in the platform (even if they got it for little effort) which is a powerful incentive to make it work and promote the platform.