You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decentralized Governance - OR - How to align your values to a new system before your preconceptions destroy us all.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Thank you for a well thought out glimpse at the current turmoil. I would like to add one thought for those who feel Steemit has an unfair stake. The fact is, they co created the chain with Dan and as the creators had the privilege of determining how that creation shaped out. It was their vision. Anyone who has equal vision, equal ability to code and ability to convince exchanges to list the coin, and convince others to use the coin and platform can do so and make their own creators shape to their creation.

I may not agree with some of the decisions and ramifications by them, but everyday I am thankful for the opportunity their initial vision and capabilities give to me.

You are spot on when you focus on decentralization. It scares many, even those who talk of it as the way. It can be frightening to suddenly realize that in such a system, the burden/honor of being important and making decisions that affect the whole is on all of us.

Sort:  

Great points! You could consider that stake their 'due', I suspect they do.

I prefer to focus on my responsibilities, as you elegantly state - it is up to us!