One Year in Steemlandia

in #steem6 years ago

One year ago today, I threw caution to the wind and became the 143,462th person/bot/wombat to have become a citizen of Steemlandia.

I had only the vaguest idea of what I was doing. Maybe try to make a little money? crossed my mind. So I posted a few short pieces, mostly verbatim stuff that I’d earlier written for one doomed blog or another. I got some random upvotes that after a half dozen posts earned a grand total of nothing. I had no idea that I’d happened to join right after Hard Fork 18 and that the reward pool had essentially been reset to zero.

And then I had a post that earned two cents. Woopdeedoo? Damn right, that’s more than I had earned in several years of intermittent blogging. I was hooked.

I started exploring the nooks and crannies of Steemlandia.

As soon as I wrote that sentence, I wondered what the hell is a cranny? Get thee to the intertubes! It turns out that nook has the meaning of some kind of corner, whereas a cranny is some kind of crack or opening. Nook gets used other ways, but cranny seems to have fallen by the wayside. We now return you to our regularly scheduled programming.

What a long strange trip it’s been. I’ve bought some Steem Power and earned some Steem Power. I’ve made a lot of friends and a few enemies. I’ve discovered mountains of garbage and some lovely gems.

A year later, I’ve yet to discover my niche. I’ve written some long posts, but lately mostly short format dMania and Zappl. I’ve gotten the most satisfaction from writing flash fiction in freewrite and fiftywords styles, but longer format pieces continue to percolate through my subconscious and will likely be posted at Steemit or Busy.

Perhaps I never will find my niche, maybe I’m a generalist at heart.

But I’m here for the long haul. Powering down is not on my radar.

Sort:  

So there is hope for us noobs. I guess I’ll hang around for awhile and see what happens. Buy some steem and hopefully get a few upvotes. Thank!!!

I don't think I will ever find my niche as well. Your words and thoughts resonate with me. I love to read about so many things and slowly maturely I will perhaps write about different niches. I hope my readers are not driven away for the want of a specific niche. I am here for 3 months now and don't know how far along I will be when I hit one year. Perhaps I will write a post like this. Come to think about it, I am sure I will, hope to see you coming to my one year post and share your thoughts :)

To niche or not to niche, that is the question. And so many crannies to fill. Making money in the blogging world is like bringing down a fast moving stealth fighter. But there is hope, always hope, and I have already swallowed something red. Failure is not an option...

Congratulations on your one year adventure. Best!

What a long and strange journey it's been. I bought some Steem Power and got some Steem Power. I've made a lot of friends and some enemies. I discovered mountains of garbage and some beautiful gems

certainly steemit is a second life, full of high bass, friends and enemies, experience, lessons, stories and enjoyment, I have a little less time than you but I like to be here, although I do not have the rewards that you may dream, steemit is original and very attractive, happy anniversary steemit is original and very attractive.
If there is a mistake maybe my translator is not working

Congratulations @preparedwombat! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations on a year, I'm coming up on one year too! In about 9 months...

You forgot to mention that during the past year, you were/are helping out red fishes where you could/can.
I also find it difficult to find a nice, but it this necessary? Each post is an opportunity to spread out your world to the Steem ecosystem. If gives your followers a chance to interact which still is the much important thing on Steemit. Without interaction no social media platform. Without interaction is all is just about the money!
So, should we all find our nice? I don't know. The more topics we cover, to more people we can touch!