You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reward Curve Deep Dive

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Thank you for the illustration of the derivative work in the rewards pool. I am not sure that changing the formula however would get the results we want: the growth of the block chain, more users, more ad revenue, and a higher value for steem.

I would like to see a better balance between rewarding those who do the creative and supportive work for the block chain and those who invest but mainly reward themselves.

I would like to see a minimum vote power instituted for those steemians in good standing. For example, everyone gets say 10 one cent votes a day to use but they cannot use it on themselves. This would encourage users to network, use the block chain more, and make newbies feel they have more impact on the platform. Now that we are an ad-revenue based platform/block chain, we need this.

Some of that ad-revenue, once running costs are met, could be used to reward those steemians that perhaps are not as heavily invested in steem but have invested considerable time and intellectual property building the block chain. Better still if they happen to be both invested intellectually and monetarily.

We really need to have our view counts back. Right now the only reliable evidence of proof of brain visits is the comments section. We need to encourage the use of our platforms and reward those who use it as intended. More eyes of the page will drive up the value of steem and rewards for everyone, no matter how we divvy it up.

Sort:  

it will be hard to do it because the way you pay content creator will affect the type of content they create as well.

Let's face the truth , not all good content can do with low cost . How do we judge is the content value?
6.jpg

Take my channel for example . I learn it is hard to do it here cause the return is low. All the video i upload at Dtube never really help me cover the cost .
5.jpg

See that RM1000 banknote? even at face value is 250USD.
Some people say i did not engage much . I use to engage a lot but let's face it. People want to watch for free rather than paying anything or giving me an upvote.
A good content survive the test of time. My youtube highest earning video is mostly my old video.
youtube ads revenue type is suitable for video that can survive the test of time.
steemit 7 day payout is only suitable for viral video or short term value video.
The ads revenue on steemit won't be much if steemit is going to fill with all this short term value video.

You make a very valid criticism of the payout period, and are not the first to observe the value of evergreen content.

I also would like to see content be rewardable more easily indefinitely. There are ways to do it presently, but they are not obvious nor as simple as upvoting. Personally, when I am on an old post I just comment and await reply, which I can then upvote instead of the OP. It's a hack, but it gets votes to creators for old content.

Also, the pics you post are useful - but they're huge! Perhaps smaller pics might be less imposing.

Thanks!

I strongly agree with your sentiments here, excepting I don't reckon ad revenue either necessary or beneficial given changes similar to your thoughts here I propose below in reply to the OP. I'd appreciate your thoughts if you can spare a look.

Thanks!