You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Warning For Exchange Users (Poloniex, Bittrex, etc.) - Exchanges are not safe places to hold coins

in #steem7 years ago

This was very helpful. I've been using some of the exchanges. The amounts have been so small that I've not worried too much, but I just had a small investment quadruple so it's not so small any more. What kind of external wallet do you use. I just had a laptop crash so I'm concerned about having anything on my computer.

Sort:  

The amounts have been so small hat I've not worried too much

That's the good thing for us little guys. The transactions come faster and are easier to move to offline storage. I wonder what the security plan is for those that need to keep their accounts "filled up" for trading purposes

I've wondered that as well. I would be a nervous wreck!

Yes, exactly! I actually have everything I have (crypto wise) split between my STEEM wallet, and BitShares.

Where do you keep bitshares? I have some in an exchange at the moment. not a large amount, but would like to know for future reference.

The best place is actually in a BitShares wallet. Here is a UI that interfaces with the BitShares blockchain: https://bitshares.openledger.info

Thank you for all of the info!