You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem-UA - My Thoughts.. Possible Integration into SteemOcean.com & What Me Being Ranked 125 on Steem-UA Might Mean In Reality.

in #steem6 years ago

Wow fair play, good ranking!

Being a witness and no. of followers (especially followers with a high UA/ witness ranking) are the two key variables for UA aren't they?

It certainly seems robust.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

As far as I am aware, yes - although we don't have all the details as the code is closed source.

Why is the code closed source?

The coders say they simply want to benefit from their work, rather than having others clone it and gain rewards from it. I can understand that, it's the same reason that steemocean is closed source.

Its like Windows OS closed sourced right?
I prefer open source.

Yes. Generally, open source is preferable, but when a project is small and one person has put a lot of time into it without any payout, I don't see that it is wrong for them to keep the code closed. The code can be opened later if need be. So far no-one has actually asked me for the code to steemocean anyway.

I guess those huge delegators to steem-ua already know the code because they wont be delegating that much if they won't reveal the code.

I don't know. Maybe.