You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Witness Vote Buying and Selling

in #steem6 years ago

A couple of weeks back, @steevc published a list of witnesses, and gave reasons why to vote for them.

I voted for a bunch of them. But I didn't vote for isnochys, as the only reason recommended to vote that way was regular kickbacks.

I've got no problem with kickbacks from a witness, who is objectively good anyway, but where no reason is cited to vote for a person except kickbacks, that is just another road to hell for Steem.

For it is easy to imagine that the best witnesses need the money to eat, and if kickbacks rule, there won't be enough left for the best witnesses to eat. Then the race to the bottom will determine that only cost cutting witnesses who funnel the most kickbacks out will become witnesses.

So the concept of a quality witness or a visionary witness will be over, exchanged for the cheapest low quality witnesses who stage the biggest giveaways.

It's just bidbots part 2, only worse. So, for now, I didn't vote for isnochys.

What I do love about this though, is your hand rubbing glee over a shitstorm. That I can appreciate and enjoy lol! ;)

Sort:  

I see he has just announced he will not be rewarding voters any more after being bullied into this change. He should be able to do what he likes if it's not harming Steemit. He's opted to not take all the witness reward he could. It's not like he was ever near the top of the list. I didn't regard it as a serious part of my income and I may continue to support him as we need a spread of witnesses.

Noone should be bullied, least of all in the wild west of Steemit, where noone really knows anything. Hope he's ok. I wasn't criticising him, just saying that I lack enough info to make my own judgement. :)