You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In defense of finding value on Steem

in #steem6 years ago

Returning to the platform after a significant time off I noticed that I could no longer expect ~$20 for a quality post. My most recent scholarly article (that has exited it's payout time) garnered a measly $4.57. I don't know if this is the result of my long absence or some disappointing new trend in the platform. For example, I notice your post has a slew of "pay to upvote" bots pumping up its value. While this doesn't break any rules, it certainly violates the spirit of the platform.

Regardless, I welcome the idea of a slick "SteemIt Magazine."

By the by, I'd like for the "academic" tag to get more use. My intention is for it to be used on articles of high enough quality they could be submitted at the university level—or, in my case, actually are papers I've submitted with some images added. This to distinguish it from other "education" posts.

Sort:  

Bots have taken over steemit and are what is what now unfortunately, has been for a good little bit. Proof of Brain has become Proof of Bot Use. Actual quality posts go by the wayside never to be seen while stolen content, stolen memes and shitposts roll in the bank.

Things have definitely changed but in my experience they were always changing, one month to the next. Remember the whale experiment? That really threw a lot of things out. There have been eras.

However yes you're right, today writers of interesting stuff don't get rewarded as well. The focus has shifted more to return on investment that curation. We have to roll with it. So there comes this idea for a magazine.

I'll go into more detail next time but it would have sections if done right. Academic / scholarly might be too narrow, can you think of a good parent category for that that doesn't dilute it?

Upvote bots are damaging the community

Posted using Partiko Android