Steem Watcher; For those of you on the go but still want updates!

in #steem7 years ago

Most of us love to use Steem and use it daily. Some of us even check Steem on the go, guilty as charged, to see if there have been any new updates, comments, votes, and more.

I find it very annoying myself when people are stuck in their phones when they are outdoors, and for that reason, I wanted to find a better way. I’m not a heavy user of Telegram, but it has a very easy interface API that we can use for sending messages.

By pushing out notifications directly to me, I can rest assured that I'm not missing any comments but can still keep myself busy with the other things I need to do as well.

I present to you Steem Watcher for Telegram

With the tools of Python and the Steem Python libraries, I’ve created a Telegram notification script that will send out an alert to you when there is a new action to your account.
It reacts on the following (fully customizable) triggers:

  • Mentions of strings in 'mentions'
  • Comments on posts by 'author'
  • Votes on posts by 'author'
  • Curation rewards to 'author'
  • Author rewards to 'author'
  • Interest sent to 'author'
  • Transfer sent to 'author'

Open Source on GitHub

The script is open source (GNU GPLv3) and is free to use for anyone that wishes to run it themselves.

https://github.com/startailcoon/graphene-resources/blob/master/SteemMonitorBot.py

There are only a few small things that you are required to do to make it work.

  1. Have Python installed
  2. Have Steem Python installed or install with pip3 -U steem
  3. Change author, mentions, triggers and telegram_id in the script

You can find your Telegram ID by connecting to the @MyTelegram_Bot (https://telegram.me/mytelegramid_bot)

And you are all set to go

The remaining code and settings aren’t necessary to change.

Online Service is coming

For those of you that aren’t able to run a Linux machine 24/7, there will be a service for this online in a few weeks. When there are a few more functions and the code has been tested and made sure to work correctly, I will host a service on crypto.fans for Telegram notifications for anyone to use it.

Feel Free to Comment and Suggest!

  • What do you think?
  • Do you find the script useful?
  • Missing anything?
I want to hear your thoughts :)

Vote for me as Witness

Enjoying what I do and contribute to the community, please vote for me as a Witness or a Steemit Proxy Voter.

By voting for me as a witness, you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares. I believe a witness should keep up-to-date on current happenings and be a conduit between the many users and the system.

Read my Witness Posts: BitShares Witness - Steemit Witness

Support my Projects: Project Minnow Witness

Steemit: sc-steemit
BitShares: sc-ol

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

Preview of Telegram Notifications

Here's a little preview of how the Telegram Notifications looks like that I've just got for this post.

When you comment or vote on this post I will also get a notification to my Telegram. But I will not get a notification for this comment since I'm the author of the previous post (main post here).

And yes, I'm using Windows Phone ;)

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

nice info @sc-steemit ,, good work :D

was waiting for it thats great :) telegram notification alert :)

Greaat content @sc-steemit thankx a lot for sharing
Upvoted and resteemed

That could be really useful :)

Kind of why I made it :)

These is a breakthrough of steemit social life!

Thank you :) I hope to be able to contribute with things that can help everyone here.

advice and a great motivation to use steemit more useful and do not interfere with someone else's, what more with every article that we post requires a long time and also need the power of the mind to focus so that his writing is not wrong.

Thanks for the articles and advice

Thanks for the post.
Upvoted.

STOP WORKING SO HARD xD = )

You know that's impossible :P