Steemvoter & Steemauto Make A Nice Combination & My Curation Tip for Plankton

in #steem6 years ago

steemvotervssteemauto.png

Steemvoter and Steemauto are two great sites that can be used together for great effect.

SteemAuto


SteemAuto.com is a site designed to automate certain features of steem.
image.png

  • Curation Trail - Following a voter that sniffs out good posts to vote.
  • Fanbase - Autovoting people that you personally like.
  • Upvote Comments - Can autovote comments of people you promote.
  • Schedule Posts - Time when a post is made by you.
  • Claim Rewards - Automatically Claim rewards every 15 minutes or so.

I used to use steemauto almost exclusively. I had a fanbase of people I liked to vote up and I followed a curation trail. (As well as auto-claiming rewards).

One benefit of using steemauto is that you can limit what VP to stop voting at.

image.png

As a Plankton my voting power can go down quickly even through curation. By setting a high limit I can still manually upvote posts that I think are excellent while I'm active, but still not let my VP get to 100% and be wasted. (Every minute at 100% is sort of a waste because you could be voting out and regaining power)

The downside of steemauto for fanbase is that if your voting power is below the threshold then you will not vote for your valued people.
I have my voting limit set to 98%, if I'm at 97% and someone I really like posts then I might miss it.

For this the solution is SteemVoter. More about my curation tip for Plankton later.

SteemVoter


When you have people that you know you want to upvote and don't want to miss a chance to show your appreciation SteemVoter is a great autovoter to use.

After you make an account at Steemvoter.com (NOT steem account related) then you will be able to add your steem account information.

image.png

They ask for your account name and Private Posting Key, which you can find and reveal in your wallet permissions.

After you add your account and it syncs up with SteemVoter you'll be able to add 'Rules.' Rules are who you vote for, when you vote for them and how much voting power to use. The amount of rules you have access to depends on your SP level.
For example here are my current rules:

image.png

Once your rules are active and your followed person posts it will upvote after the delay.

My Curation Tip for Plankton

@umich is a great curator for Plankton in my opinion. They make some great picks on votes and can lead to some pretty good returns per SP level. Other curation trails don't seem to do much for plankton. I had followed a couple before and the levels that they voted at and the number of people seemed to lead to me getting nothing for following them.

Disclaimer: Even @umich doesn't think people below 100SP should follow his trail. He states this in his curation post. To be most effective you need to be able to throw out a lot of votes to spread out your influence and luck.

Having said that, even 15sp (Starter Level Plankton) accounts can gain /some/ SP currently by following @umich. It's not much, not going to lie, almost insignificant. BUT, this can be gained using time that you're away from your account, so you've lost basically nothing and gained a very small amount.

Don't expect much, on a good day some of the 15sp accounts get maybe 0.010SP rounding up.

Note that this can also change depending on a number of factors. Idk what would happen if a lot of people suddenly followed him, or if there were price changes, etc.

If you want to try your luck and follow @umich's curation trail then do the following after you login to Steemauto.com ,

  • Go to the Dashboard,
    image.png
  • Under 'Settings' change your voting limit from the default to something high, like 96% to even 100%. I choose somewhere between 96-98% so that if there's a lapse in service then i can regain some VP and not hit 100%. Also note that sometimes SteemAuto will continue voting for the five minutes before it checks your VP, so it can drop 10% or more below the limit you set. I choose a high limit so when I come back to steem I can still manually vote people with ease. Also as a Plankton you don't want your VP running too low or your vote becomes not worth much :/
    image.png
  • Next go to 'Curation Trail'
    image.png
  • Under 'Search for a Trail' enter 'umich' and press search.
    image.png
  • They should be the only result. If you're not following him yet it will have a button saying "Follow" click that.
    image.png
  • Now change the settings. If you're a level 15 SP account then you may need to vote with 100% Fixed voting weight. It's important to change both options. What this does is sets your account to vote 100% on the posts.
    image.png
  • Click 'Save Settings,' and you should be done! When SteemAuto gathers your VP % you should start voting behind @umich when they vote and your Voting Power is above the threshold.

What this SHOULD do if you have a 15SP account is have your account give out about 10 good votes per day if you are inactive. That's 10 chances to earn a small amount although you can also get 0.

If your SP is higher than 15 you can scale down your vote more. Even if you're at 15 you should maybe experiment by scaling it down to 90% vote or so and see if you curate anything.

For a good estimate on how you are doing for the week you can enter your username into https://steemstats.com and see the posts you voted for and how much you will curate on the far right of each post.

Let me know if this helps or works out for you, or if you disagree.

Sort:  

Very well written post with straight to the point most important tips for new (and maybe even some older) Steemit members when it comes to smart voting and wise usage of available Voting Power.

Without any doubt deserves my 100% upvote and to be resteemed! 👍

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 2.16$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

SteemVoter looks like the thing i ways looking for! Thanks

Thanks for the tips, I'll certainly put some of these to use.

I've been looking for a delayed posting service especially.

Thanks for sharing your experiences. I may consider following @umich once I exceed 100 SP. I haven't tried any of these additional sites or features yet. Usually it's all I can do to try and post/vote a couple times a week. They may be great resources if I can take the time to investigate and set them up when my account grows. I appreciate the information.

You just planted 0.28 tree(s)!


Thanks to @schrosct

We have planted already 6241.63 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22192.57
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You just planted 0.28 tree(s)!


Thanks to @schrosct

We have planted already 6164.82 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22193.22
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png