A Soldiers Journal (page 5)

in #steem4 years ago

A Soldiers Journal (page 5)

My Most boring day I encounter was after arriving in Brisbane. I would be leaving HMAS Barcoo and in no time would be barking on my new adventure at the Flinders naval depot at crib point Melbourne. Hear I would carry out my national service training.It was early in the morning on the 28th of July 1951 the fog had blanketed my surrounds, giving a scene of warmth. As I quickened my pace through the streets of south Brisbane a fear had set into my soul, as I was running late and could not miss this train. If I miss this train I would be severely punished maybe even left a shore and this is not what I wanted.

download (2).jpg

finally I reached the station with only a minute to spare, There were about 50 of us boarding the express train to Sydney we where over seen by a senior sailor who put us all in the first carriage.After changing trains we where finally given a meal in Coffs Harbor bloody fish of course.Many of the men refrained from making conversation so it was very quiet trip, many of us still didn't know each other.As the train crossed the Hawksbury River bridge the sun was slowly rising over the river and the mist was evaporating through the sunlight one of the most magic sites I have seen and as the train made its way up the range you could look back over the river and near by national park. "simply breath taking" from beauty to suburbia as the train made it way to central Sydney rail way.

download (1).jpg

we where taken from the train station and placed on buses where we where to be bused to Russeutter's bay naval depot. Upon arriving we were provided with a lunch and got to shit, shower and shave before we were bused around Sydney to visit other naval bases in the area. After our feild trip we where then bused back to the hawksbury naval base where we were joined by 100 more naval personnel from NSW and Sydney surrounding areas. we all sat down for a meal before continuing back to Central Sydney Railway. upon ariving back to station we meet a squad called Divie Four. There job was to make sure we were all huddled in a group like a group of prisoners making sure no one escapes. Once on train they left this would not be the last i see of Divie Four.

The next stop would be at Albury wich we arived at about 12am we we switched trains again from sydney line to victorian lines I remember it was freezing cold and the walk along the station felt as though it was 2 miles long.

To be continued

Also can be found and supported here:

https://www.publish0x.com/a-soldiers-journal/soldiers-journal-page-5-xezoon

please support by up-vote resteem and comment

Sort:  

Congratulations @scoopslapues! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!