A Soldiers Journal (pg2)

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

A Soldiers Journal

As time past, the days seemed to get longer and sleep time seemed to get shorter. The mediocre task we keep doing seem to be pointless and unfulfilling. Many a day was spent doing the gunnery drill on the old tyrant, The four inch gun ( QF 4-inch gun Mk IV) there was no live ammunition supplied in these drills, instead we were supplied with wooden dummy rounds. we would line up to the end of the drill hall and sound off to the position on the gun. we would then go through the motion as if to fire it, loading wooden ammunition then removing it and reloading it. This was not for-filling my teenage self as I wanted to blow stuff up.This would conclude my training and I was sent home to wait for my national service call. This would be a short wait as I turned 18 in a couple of weeks. I wasted no time signing up to the royal naval reserve, as my option were poor again. They had given me the choice of navy stoker, Army Water Transport or air force to sea rescue. Now I had turned 18 I was allowed to go to sea so the navy seemed most exciting option. So off I went to do more medical tests and sight test after passing I was discharged from the royal naval cadets and embarked on my first journey to sea.

Barcoo_2.jpg

(River Class Frigate HMAS Barcoo pic from ww.navy.gov.au/hmas-barcoo)

I was aboard the River Class Frigate HMAS Barcoo as a navy stoker, where we where to travel to Hayman island but this was not going to be a island cruise, I was to be moved into engine room and boiler room upon reaching hayman island. I can only imagine the heat and the cramped position, my chest tightened and Tendrils of terror curled into my stomach as the Cold sweat trickled down my sides. I can not pass the thought that this would be my coffin if we were attacked. As I rattled open the air lock to the boiler room I could fell the heat blast my face as I stood at the top of the stairs. It was dimly light room with dirty rust colored Water dripping from the ceiling.I could not understand why the uniform that I had been supplied with consisted of boots, woolen socks, leather gloves, overalls, hat and a thick coat. A basic tool kit was also supplied as part of the uniform it consisted of a Torch, Wheel Spanner and a shifting spanner.this heat and this uniform I don't think I will be able to do this job." but I must" failing is not a option. As I made my way down the stairs it seemed to get cooler and as walked on to the plates it was very cold and drafty. I was very surprised, but I was also overwhelmed by the amount of gauges and valves. I will never be able to learn what they are for or what they do. But I now understood why I have the uniform I have. The forced draft fans were blowing a cold breeze through out the bottom of the boiler room creating a cold environment for the top of the plates, heat was now the last of my problems.

Each day upon HMAS BARCOO started the same as a seaman, at 0600 we would scrub down the upper deck using holystone and lime which made deck clean and white. The decks consisted of wooden planks bolted to steel overlays cleaning the deck was for safety and maintenance so was always first priority. After this we where allowed breakfast, this mainly consisting of porridge, toast, tea and coffee. The cook was a big fat man who would drip with sweat, His voice is deep and brisk that would roar at those who complained. You only had the one place to eat and auguring just made your meals worse ,so you kept your mouth shut. So many meals I would sit and wonder how much of this mans sweat had passed my lips!

Can also Be Found At https://www.publish0x.com/a-soldiers-journal/soldiers-journal-pg2-xgnwym

To be continued.