Sort:  

Well, we wouldn't want to put the minimal rep too low because new people want to feel involved and get involved. So it's important to be inclusive. While it might not be fair to know that someone might find loopholes to take advantage of the system, most of us act in a moral way and are honest. This system is free and accentuates freedom, so technically, whether we agree or not, to implement too many rules and restrictions means to take away that freedom.

Personally, while I don't agree that some witnesses will "cheat" so to speak, I prefer there to be freedom than not. We just need to trust. There's no way to know, and I don't think there ever will be a way to know, not with a free system in a decentralised system that promotes freedom, and I'm okay with that. I value the freedom part more.

Yeah but the problem is it that if people can cheat the system, they will. Our trust doesn't stop Trump from joining tomorrow and buying millions of STEEM and just shitting on the STEEM blockchain with like 20 top witness accounts in control of everything.

You're right. But it's a free system. Do we want decentrilized and free of control, or do we want controlled and centralized? I now I want free of control. It sounds like you would like to find a middle ground, and perhaps that is possible, but perhaps a witness would have some ideas for that.

Yeah I mean to be fair though if my worst scenario were to come true, then there would be no freedom at all. Steemit would be ruined. I don't want it centralized I just want loopholes fixed I guess

I can understand that. The best people to talk to about your concerns are witnesses. You can take a look at some of the top witnesses and contact them, comment on their posts, find out which ones are programming things and see what they have to say. They'll be happy to take your ideas and concerns into consideration and see if anything can be done without compromising what Steemit is and represents.

I'm thinking moving forward I'd like to run as one to represent the values and and concerns of minnows whose interests I feel aren't taken in equally to those of whales etc. who end up running as witnesses and having misaligned values from the majority on here. For example, allowing witnesses who have gone inactive to stay in the top places due to people leaving their votes their. I think inactive voter accounts who voted and then just never came should be revalidated as the person they voted for could be completely different and or inactive as said before.

Such implementations would be good and would take care of a lot just in that simple step. Are you a programmer? Would be cool if you could find a way to implement that, but you don'T need to be a programmer, you can be a driving force of ideas and witnesses do listen a lot to what other minnows have to say and such. I think you would be a good witness. You have a lot of great ideas, you know how to take other's thoughts and opinions into consideration and you're willing to look at other viewpoints, and you want to go ahead and do something about it.

I'm not sure how one becomes a witness and what the prerequisites are, but talking with other witnesses is always a great start.

Best of luck. That would be so cool if you became a witness.