You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self Voting... now a problem due to linear rewards

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

The only reason I see people self vote is because of the incentive structure. Yeah every one does it now - yes because Steem is paying everyone to do it. It is not that hard to connect those dots.

Now to my point on self voting comments, we simply need to ask ourselves if we would be doing it without the incentive structure. I would hope I would speak for the majority of us, when I answer no to the simple question.

So basically we have created an incentive structure to prop up an inherently wasteful social activity. What is the benefit of it to the community or the platform.

To end with a proverb, with a touch of cinema, "Spread the wealth Steemians and everyone will have more as a result".

P.S. To be clear I will like to draw a distinction with self voting your post and self voting your comment. I have no issues with the former but the later i think must go.