Powering Up, Why Bother??

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Can someone please explain the powering up concept? When I created my account I chose the 50/50 option and have been expecting to have 50% of my reward revenue be a direct payout and 50% to go to steempower. After receiving some rewards I noticed my steempower went up as expected but then it dropped again to 15sp. Every article I can find about this seems to be really old or confirms that I should be gaining SP but I'm not. If I'm not getting the benefit of adding to steempower why bother?

I must be missing something.

U5drhS4aSPmmpF4ieVRSidhLWTrZsWq_1680x8400.jpeg
Image credit: @earn1sec

Kindly, if you follow, up-vote, or resteem me, please make a comment so I am aware. And why. That way I know if I'm sharing things of interest to the community and also I can repay you in-kind for doing so.

Thank you,
@shauntaemonte
https://www.instagram.com/aaronjspohn/
https://www.spohnranch.com/bio/aaron-spohn

Sort:  

Hello @shauntaemonte,
Your post "Powering Up, Why Bother??" hast just been Resteemed !!! 😉😄😉
You have Earned this service by following me.


😝🙂😝 Best regards, free resteeme. @tow-heed😻🙃😻

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I would also like to know the answer. However, it is probably in the docs. As for most starters, I think more important is valuable content. If you have interesting blog it will become popular sooner or later and you will benefit from the audience.
Good luck